Engelhard London Set - The Uncovered Story Behind The Personalized Tag!!

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

image

image

I posted this Engelhard London 750 gram set last night here on Steemit. After I drafted the post. I started to think about the dates and name on the personalized ID label. It did not make sense for it to be related directly to Engelhard. I do not believe they were in business during 1937.
image

I decided it was time to try my luck on Google. I searched PJ Zweegers en Zenen. After scrolling through many articles that were in German. I discovered they were a company that operated in the Netherlands! In fact, an agricultural company that sold tractors, lawn mowers, and farm equipment. They seem to be a very recognized company!

My next search was PJ Zweegers en Zenen and Engelhard. That lead me to an amazing post on the Allengelhard.com public forum from 2016. image
☝️It turns out this individuals Grandfather was presented this as an award for 40 yrs of service at PJ Zweegers en Zenen!! Produced by Engelhard specifically for this 40yrs of service award. Which makes perfect sense! The 1937-1977 dates is 40 years!!!
image

It is truly amazing what can be found on the internet in this day and age. After I found all this info. I asked myself, if these cases were made specifically for employees that worked at one company for 40 yrs. How many cases were actually made?? Then, how many cases still exist today ??

I am going to guess that the mintages are alarming LOW!

image
☝️A unique 500g 1/2kg Engelhard London with individual presentation case! The first I have seen to date! Representing the same 40 service award. Personalization and date engraved on a sterling tag.

My experience in collecting vintage silver ingots has brought me to a place where I truly appreciate a strong provenance associated with an ingot. In a way, I compare it to the collectible art market. Where the provenance can make the item 100x more valuable. Documented history is something that is cherished and unique in its own way. That is where you will ALWAYS find the best VALUE!

There it is. Quick and simple for your viewing pleasure! If you enjoyed this article please RESTEEM UPVOTE and FOLLOW!

I published this article using the ESTEEM app on my android mobile device. Quick and easy!

Follow me on Instagram: @collectbulliondotcom

image
image

Sort:  

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Holy Crap!!! That is an amazing set and even better story behind it. Thanks for sharing and making me jealous. LOL

Glad you enjoyed the story and photos brother! I am trying to spread the history around

Holy crap! That is some deep state silver yo 👊😎

I saw a set just Like it at a Garage Sale Today and Passed on it Because the Guy Wanted $10.00 an Ounce over SPOT............

I have the same case. Other serial number. It was from my father.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45