Aussie Engelhard

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Engelhard Australia has consistently been a personal favorite of mine. I have always held a strong interest in 1 kilogram silver ingots. There is just something about holding a 1KG bar in your hand. It magically fits perfect in a mans hands.

The Engelhard refinery in Australia was located in Thomastown. There was not a wide variety of weight classes produced out of Australia. In a collectors eyes the 5oz and 1KG classes are the treasures of Engelhard Australia.
image
^Engelhard 5oz ingot in Australian Variation.
Mintage <250
Price range: $400-750 USD
-Some of the 5oz Australian ingot have amazing cooling lines. Originally sold with a blue velvet pouch to store the bar in.

image
^2nd Series 1Kg ingot in Australian Variation. SCCC front stamp
Mintage <100
Price Range: $1000-$1450 USD
SCCC - Southern Cross Coins and Commodities. SCCC were an Australian bullion retailer.

image image
^2nd Series 1Kg ingot in Australian Variation. SILEC counterstamp
Mintage <50
Recorded Sale: 4/21/2017 - $2650.00
Silec Pty Ltd was a refinery and bullion dealer located in Keon Park of Victoria, Australia.

By now I am sure you can see why the 1Kg ingot in Australian variation is so attractive to collectors. The dimensions and size make them very stackable. Which we all love! BUT the counterstamped variations make them unique. They did produce a standard 1Kg Australian variation that has no counterstamps. Much higher mintage then the rarer examples shown above. The standard Australian 1Kg as a mintage of 10,000.

Now the big boy...

image
These 5KG ingots are not often seen considering the estimated mintage is set at <2500. Assuming many were melted down during the silver rush. The shear size of these bar's make them amazing. I have a great comparable pic below.
image
image
^ 5kg Engelhard Australia vs. 10oz Engelhard MFR

I hope you enjoyed reading about SOME of the Engelhard ingots produced in Australia. There is also a .5 Kg class that I did not include. Might make for a good part 2 follow up someday. These are the true treasures of Australia!

  • www.allengelhard.com goes into much further detail regarding the history of Engelhard Australia. As well as presenting all the other variations. An amazing resource for information!*
Sort:  

All i can say is Wow. That some sweet Engelhard bars.

@firecajun9262 Thank you! Certainly a passion for me. Check out my recent post. Giving away a 1oz Engelhard PB Silver Bar.

Man you got some nice vintage. That kilo Engle is friggin dope!

@pit-bullion Thanks man. Love this stuff!

@silveringots Engelhard Bars are my Favorite. Once you get involved you then branch out into many other manufacturers.

@stokjockey that is exactly how my journey went. Also why I am starting my blog with Engelhard. It is the foundation to the collectable silver market...

yes, wow! those are really nice Engelhard bars! And thank you for all the information and links.

@cyber.explorer thanks! Took me a long time to aquire these. I am glad your enjoying the blog. Appreciate your support !

sweet georgia brown , the first and second pic ones are beautiful

@uglyboy Thanks man! Appreciate your support.

Sensational share @silveringots, you had me at 'Australian Engelhard'. I have a few Engelhard beauts in my stack, but nothing quite as sexy as some of yours. That 5kg and 1kg are just epic.

Keep 'em coming mate, loving your posts.

@strenue Appreciate your comment and support. Great to see others sharing the passion. I have some great stuff underway. Thanks !

Beautiful bars! I love the SCCC counterstrike. I want one of those 2oz soap bar style bars. I'd like to actually make bars of soap like that I reckon they would make good pressies :-)

@owenwat Thanks! The SCCC counterstrike clover is sharp!

I must say THANK YOU for sharing that 5 kg bar! That thing is what wet dreams are made of!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62349.28
ETH 3026.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67