Big Changes to Voting, Results of First audit and call for feedback.steemCreated with Sketch.

Hey guys, I did a bit of an audit over the voting over the last month. I want to say that I'm not on a witch hunt, but most of the feedback I've been getting so far was about trying to support the members of the community that are more active and also contributing back to botty and the community as whole. In light of that I reshuffled the votes for the next month.

HERE is a link of a spreadsheet of the results and everyones new voting amounts.

Voting


Overall most people that are supporting the community and botty saw an increase in voting amounts, but others will see a decline down to the new base 1% level.

Not sure if everyone can follow my train of thought here, but I went back and increased the vote amount for the lease, so that every 1STEEM you send, you received a 2% Vote in return. I kept the same amounts for votes to botty but removed the 20% for voting on her 100% of the time and everyone who voted over 80% got a 20% Vote in return and over 50% got a 10% vote. I also dropped the base voting weight to 1% for everyone else who hasn't been supporting botty. Interesting most of those people under 50% are just inactive. There are many on that list I feel are active and supportive in the community and would like to give them larger votes, but at the same time I don't want to pick and choose like that, I much prefer to just leave it up to the algorithm to decide. I know there was also a call to just remove people if they don't seem to be active in the community.

I am really hoping for feedback regarding this method guys. I hate having to make the calls on my own. Let me know what you think is fair and how I should distribute the votes. I feel it's about more than just supporting botty it's about supporting each other and building community, but at the same time it's hard too quantify.

These amounts are also just a trial amount, I may add a 5% vote for people that voted at least twice or over 20% or something, but not sure. I would also like to increase the amounts potentially for delegations as I really feel that and voting is the best way to help maintain and grow botty long term. I dislike the idea of asking everyone to 'pay' into it with STEEM on a monthly basis. At the same time this is only my personal feelings and if everyone else prefers "paying" over voting and delegation we can also continue with that.

The audit was also a chance to see that I missed a few members who are active and voting botty and weren't even on the list sorry guys. Once again I'm not trying to go on a witch hunt and sorry if the results look bad for a few people. I also just didn't have time to investigate vote's received by the guys that are voting and supporting botty.

My second question I was looking for feedback for was what people think about botty leaving a comment with her vote.


I personally wonder if people just don't know about botty or the community or that they are a part of it, or how things work around here. (Or maybe I'm just being to nice and naive).

I was thinking if she dropped a comment that said something like this;

You have received a _% Upvote from @silvergoldbotty, thanks for being a member of the steemsilvergold community. Please continue so support each other in this great community (To learn more about the community and how to support botty and increase you vote amount check out this post(with a link to a static post that lays some things out)

It may also help serve as an update for those that are inactive to and may post rarely to get reacquainted as too what is currently happening here.

I'm also concerned we may attract some unwanted attention as well, I feel it's more about fostering community than just about receiving upvotes.

I would also been interested in forming some sort of executive structure around here to help with some of these bigger decisions, maybe having formal votes at times as well, but at the same time I don't want to go overboard and just want to follow what everyone prefers

Anyways guys these are the kinds of things that keep me up at night and I hope to have a bit of feedback about the whole process and what everyone wants to see

Sort:  

Your math sounds pretty good for what your describing, and i like that your taking some pressure off yourself with letting the algo decide. With regards to "shares" of the vote, i think there ought to be a bare participation threshold. If you don't vote for botty at least once, ever, should you be entitled to an upvote?

I like what i have understood so far, re: sp delegation and the like, and i agree, the more members invest, the more those members benefit.
However, i do like the "wild-card" upvote that is done manually. It can help new minnows with a BLAST or hit a really great post with a really great upvote.

...think i'm starting to ramble

Shit wrong account for blasting...lol...brb

That's more like it...lol.

Not rambling at all man, this is exactly the kind of feedback I'm looking for actually. Thanks for getting it started and this totally deserves a BLAST! Thanks for getting it started.

@phelimint Oops.!! Lol

Alrighty. I think I figured out and succeeded with delegating SP??? Hopefully it worked. Thanks for everything @silvergoldbotty

Boom! You sure did buddy, thanks so much. Great for leading it off!

Leaving a comment is a good idea, comments increase your reputation score, it is also a good idea for those recieving a vote and comment off botty to upvote that comment adding even more goodness to her pot.

It could be a good idea for the bot to make a youtube vid introducing herself to the larger stacking world explaining steemit and what its all about and what the bot is doing, the more on here supporting each other the better it will be.

There are a limited number of members and i feel bad that some are only getting a 1% vote, i would check if people are supporting the bot and have a "call to arms" and lets get a founding 100 members that will get a guaranteed 2% or 3% upvote, the 92 on the list have the opportunity to comment and say they are in, those that dont comment wont be in the founding 100 and the opportunity is given to someone else or kept in reserve to be handed out by the community at a later date, new members get a 1% upvote after that and are encouraged to contribute to get a bigger vote off bot.

To encourage good content the best post of the week could be awarded a "summon the bot" or it can be given as recognition for something good or an award to win which gives that member a 100% vote off bot which they can call on when they wish to use it, it could be used by the member to upvote someones post from outside the group that they liked or wanted to support or they give notice for a big vote on one of their own posts or even comments, it could be awarded to a good comment on one of bottys posts which would encourage us all to comment and vote on botty, to get votes from oustde of the steemsilvergold there could be a 25% summon the bot vote awarded to 1 random upvote to a non member

Thanks man those are alot of great ideas actually. I also feel that 1% may be low for some guys, I may add a 5% level for some of the guys that voted at least 20% of the time, and gave more votes than they received or something. I was annoyed by some of the numbers yesterday when I dropped even to 1%. I'm a bit calmer now so I'll likely look at some changes in the coming days. I also want to watch the voting power closely.

Great update. I am happy to go with whatever you are thinking. Its your bot and your doing a great thing for the group. I will include something about delegations into my weekly update post.
I can imagine you laying in bed thinking about bot upvoting percentages and having numbers running through your head all day, haha

Thanks for putting out the reminder about delegations. I think it will also be worth 10% per 100STEEM you send, power rose a bit overnight with the current weights.

Sad eh? Maybe I need to read before bed instead of blogging...lol.

All looks good to me. I'm just glad you manage to find the time to do it all. I know I don't expect anything back as I contribute very little, so any % is a bonus me for. I like the comment from botty saying "you have received a _%" it might make member more aware of your contribution and prompt new/nonactive member to return the upvote. Thanks again and keep up the great work

Yeah, the comment seams to be popular, thanks for the feeback and support.

I think its a great idea to leave a comment if its to too much trouble. Test it for a week and then make a post woth the results. Im assuming it will attract unwanted attention, but maybe a good way to grow the community. Most of the time I dont know about bots until I start seeing there comments.

I would say let the top x supporters of silvergoldbotty have a say in how she votes or maybe everyone has a say but the weight of there vote is based on there support. Either way its usually the lowest supporters that are the loudest complainers.

Regardless doing a great job in my book so keep it up.

You are right about the lower ones being the loudest, all the guys supporting and giving don't seam all the worried about the vote they receive...thanks for the feedback.

No problem. Ever since I've read Tim Ferris's book (The Four Hour Workweek) I've realized your loudest complainers are usually 80% of your work and 20% of your business (or support).

He pretty much says to hell with them because 80% of your income (or support) is more worth the 20% of the work anyways. Once he figured that out he focused on growing his business instead of maintaining it which was freeing for him.

i like the idea of a comment just to remind people what your doing and keep them updated :)

Thanks, seams to be the consensus.

I jus vote %100 on the posts. It basically feeds you by feeding it. Best relationship that is symbiotic and seems to be working great

You exactly right man, I think this is going to be the best for long term growth and certainly pays dividends. Thanks.

You're thebest!

Thanks! But what I really want is some feedback...lol.

I didn’t make the spreadsheet. Is it because I am too new?

No your there. Looks like you received 22 votes and gave botty 2 votes, so you have been assigned the 1% Vote, it's all there man.

Ah. I see it. And I think I misunderstood the bot. I thought I was supposed to be voting on steemsilvergold posts. I will keep up with it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64107.62
ETH 3101.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12