DTube: A Silver Bullet to the Heart of YouTube

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)


With YouTube's increasing their efforts to demonetize smaller channels, they are unknowingly destroying what is perhaps their greatest asset: communities built from smaller channels. DTube is the antidote to this ailment. It represents an alternative to YouTube, in terms of both building community, as well as giving creators a way to monetize their content.

Support my work on Patreon: patreon.com/silverfortune

Or... Support my channel by buying silver that you were going to buy anyways! 10 oz. silver bar at spot at SD Bullion (must be logged in for code to work): sdbullion.com/sf


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

It's time to stick a fork in YouTube! It's time WE demonetize YouTube!!!

I'm only here as I believe youtube finally needs real competition. I though so for years since they first started striking channels that follow fair use. I somehow still can't fathom how disrespectful they are to the content creators that are producing their money. It's as if the internet era completly forgot who the important part in the chain is. It's not the deliverer but the producers.

Another thing I forgot to add is how fucking low the CPI is in relation to old media. How can it be that we have the target audience and far more views but get paid less?

Yeah, I know. I can't complain, my ad revenue isn't all that bad, but that's mostly because I'm blessed to have a watch time over 6 minutes. Even so, I want to hedge my bets. I think I can do much better on Steemit if Steemit and Dtube had just 1/100 of the audience of YouTube.

I really wish you the best! Dtube has got me thinking about starting a channel myself, would at least help to improve my english.

Are you close to fluent? Where are you from, if you don't mind me asking?

Germany. My speaking is still way too rough for my taste. My girlfriend always laughs at me because I started speaking to myself to improve it ;) As a developer I have to write a lot but almost never speak it...

Well, your writing is quite good! You have that going for you.

I completely agree. YouTube will learn the hard way. Sure, they'll always have the big channels there, but I think their originality will continue to decline. Eventually, I think the West will get tired of superficial channels and content as a whole, and their thirst for deeper, more meaningful conversation will increase. They'll want to hear the truth.
I pray that's the case.

Yeah, I know. I can't complain, my ad revenue isn't all that bad, but that's mostly because I'm blessed to have a watch time over 6 minutes. Even so, I want to hedge my bets. I think I can do much better on Steemit if Steemit and Dtube had just 1/100 of the audience of YouTube.

I do love YouTube as a tool and my silver gold channel on it but I do not like the company owning it. Censorship etc. Will check out Dtube soon.

I agree with you that YouTube is only hurting itself and even ruining the system that created the stars it wishes now to push. However, I think they know and the end game will be them either contracting larger channels or making the service cost. Thanks for sharing!!

I've been meaning to check out d tube

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75