The mustache

Hello my fellow steemsilvergold friends....

We are having a night course today, so grab your pens and notebooks.

Today’s variety lesson will be a 1922-P Peace Silver Dollar. This variety is listed as VAM12A, but is better known to the collectors as ***“the mustache”. ***

If you view the photos of the coin that I took. You can clearly see why that is the nickname. This variety was caused from what is called a floating die break. A floating die break is when a piece of the die breaks loose and from the pressure used during the striking of the coin.

I found this example at a swap meet last summer. It was in a full tube, labeled 1922 AU Peace Dollars. I believe that I paid $380 for the entire tube, so this ended up being a total score for me. It also proves that they are out there to be had still.

This is a high dollar variety, so keep your eyes open folks....

AEFA08BD-45F7-4959-8EEC-B9D64D5EBB23.jpeg

358E7A1E-0BCC-40B1-B8D6-8F2C547AE52D.png

Class dismissed

Thank you

4DDA14D8-EC80-4F99-995A-F2593608D3E5.png

FDED46F5-4E58-48D9-BBC6-4D512AF882F3.jpeg

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.60 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.12
Server time: 00:59:12
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 157.10/200.00
Total Photos: 29
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.13 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Teacher...Teacher pick me I have a question. Haha! Sorry I couldn't resist.

If someone would find one of these more valuable coins in say AU or any condition, would you recommend putting it in a capsule or getting graded?

Variety coins sell much better graded for some reason. I sent this one out it came back AU58. It’s an $1100 Coin now.

Thanks. $1100 coin!! Wow! I would have that under high maximum security with armed guards. LOL

I think it’s because they know it’s real then. Yep $1100, it will be back at the private security locker tomorrow.

Facial hair is so a turn off. Cool to see the errors in the coins!

No doubt, but this ones on a coin not my woman....and it helps that it’s worth $1100 since i graded it. It’s an AU58.

Mustache or booger.....

Could be....but they call it mustache

As always great info. I really need to start checking mine as you put these articles out. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks. Glad you enjoy them. Hope you find some👍

You have a valuable collection! WOW, a numismatist!

Not really. I had a real nice collection. Now it’s just some nice pieces here and there. I do have a pretty good knowledge of US coins. Not like I used to though. If you ever have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask. I’m always willing to help.👍

Very cool piece. I had not seen this one before.

I went to a flea market last weekend... there was several M’s and PD’s — i wish i had yer eyeballs with me!

Dam, wish I could have been there. There ain’t shit going onby me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61968.29
ETH 2501.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66