How quickly things change....

Well last nights meeting really brought back some very painful memories from my past. Over 20 years ago i was deceived by someone that i knew my entire life with a business venture. I had quite a bit of money invested in this venture and things were going great for about a year. All of a sudden out of nowhere things went bad and quick. My partner who i knew my entire life bailed and left me holding the bag. He filed personal bankruptcy and moved out of state. Nice friend huh....Well i refused to file bankruptcy and was left with tons of bills with no money to pay them. So how is this relevant to #steemsilvergold?
I was a very avid numismatic coin collector and ended up selling my entire collection of coins minus two Mercury dimes to pay off most of the bills. I sold off stuff that at today’s prices are irreplaceable for me. In that collection was a nearly complete set of Mercury dimes, which are my favorite coin. I was only missing three coins. All of this set was raw and ungraded, but every coin was in amazing condition and all were AU or better. I was very picky with my coins and only bought the best examples i could find. I used to travel to coin shows all over. If i was still in possession of all those coins today they would probably be worth over $200,000 easily.
As for the reason for keeping two of the Mercury dimes was sentimental for me. My mom was born in 1943 and my dad was born in 1938, so i kept those two years. I ended up getting them graded by PCGS a few years ago and was quite happy with the results. So here i share with you the only two remaining coins from my original coin collection. They are spectacular examples of Mercury dimes and the designation FB on the label which stands for full bands. If you look at the reverse of the dime that means that all of the bands have complete split bands.
image
image
image
image

I’m proud to be a #steemsilvergold member and if we all support each other we don’t need a bot. We are strong as one, atleast that’s my feeling. It was very disheartening listening to that meeting. Many of you in the community have put much effort and money into this. I know how it feels to be deceived first hand. I will help out in anyway possible if needed. I thank you all.

#steemsilvergold strong!!!!!!
image

Sort:  

Experience make you a stronger person. Glad you got through the difficult time and came out the other side. Well done sir

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger is what they say. I’m sure as hell not dead yet!!!! Thanks for the view👍

Please send me a mailing address. That will help.
😎👍

I assume you mean mine?

I posted another raffle for a hand poured limited edition bar if you are interested in trying your luck again brother.

Unfortunately people do shitty things when it comes to money, in regards to your coins they are beauties and I feel for you about your collection. I am currently doing date runs on USA coins but I am not particular about the quality but will replace when I find better examples. Hope you get some of the collection back.

They sure do, and money is usually the reason. I wanted to keep the post short so i left out a bunch. I had over 200 Morgan’s all in AU or better condition as well. Over 30 of them were Carson City. Had a shitload of Walking Liberty halves as well, was trying to make a set of them as well. Had tons of doubles and triples to cherry pick for my set. I’d have to hit the lottery to be able to get it back now. Thanks for the view👍

Spectacular specimens, my friend! Thanks for sharing your experience. You did well, my friend.939231-3361609-quotes-about-strength-through-adversity.jpg

Thank you very much. I sure did. It wasn’t easy.

That's a tough place to be put in dude. But you came through it, even as hard as I would imagine it was, to lose your wealth as well as a friend, by the sounds of it.

It sure as hell wasnt fun. To keep the post short i left out a lot. I also had to sell all of my tools, leaving me unable to keep working. It was a real mess. I made it through, took me 3 years to pay the rest off. And no i never spoke a word to him in almost 27 years now.

I am sorry to hear about what happened to you. It's a shame when people do things like this, but better times are ahead. Also these are really nice example of Mercury Dimes.

It’s been almost 27 years now, but last nights meeting brought it all back to me like it just happened again. I could feel the anguish in Rays voice and i knew exactly where he was coming from. I really couldn’t believe Damus didn’t really saw anything. They are nice, i had a 1921D that was just as nice. It’s worth over 10K now alone. Thanks for viewing.👍

Sweet dimes! Things will turn around. 👍🏻

Thank Mr. V, we are a strong unit.

Nice Merc, I think it will all work out. This situation is like life it's just a bump in the road. We just need to keep pushing.

Thanks. Steemsilvergold is a strong group no doubt it will work out. There are many very smart people in this community.

This post has received a 1.26 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @silverd510.

I could tell a similar tale , so when I say I know how you feel ,I do !!!!!
Stay strong and stay stacking my friend !!!!

I only one way in life and that full throttle my man. I go in one direction and that’s forward. I’m a hard headed been through enough shit hard headed Italian/Pollack. I won’t ever give up, it’s not in my DNA. Thanks GPO. Sorry it happened to you as well. They say what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger and I’m sure as hell not dead yet...👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95