Where the Buffalo Roam.....

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

Don’t be deceived by the picture you see......

A9E0D0AD-2993-48AC-AC41-04DD08A2FADA.jpeg

This post is not about Iron Maiden or the song “Run to the Hills”. But I didn’t want to show off the coin I am about to share with you. While Iron Maiden is a legendary asskicking 80’s metal band and that song is a masterpiece. I digress....

There is nothing like owning an absolutely prestine piece of history. When a coin nearly 100 years old still looks like it just came from the mint, there is nothing like it.

Before Inshow of the coin, I would like to share with you that it is an extremely undervalued coin at the moment. This was the final year of the coin, it was only minted in Denver, because they were already mass producing it’s replacement.

The mintage on this coin was just over seven million coins. That is a fraction of the typical mintage of these nickels.

Buffalo nickels are now in the top five coins collected in the US. While it is not considered a key date, which many of the key dates have higher mintages. It will end up being the one that everyone is scrambling for to finish their set in high grade collections.

See hard core collectors start with the high dollar key date coins first. While it’s not a bad idea because these coins General appreciate consistently. There are only so many high grade specimens around.

Per the NGC and PCGS census, there are a total of 207 graded in MS66, and only 51 graded higher. There are 550 registry sets listed between the two grading companies. While they don’t tell you the grade or which coins they each have, you can clearly see that there aren’t enough of these in circulation to complete what is registered. I have many of my coins in a registry. There are many advantages to that. One if someone wants to buy one of your coins to fill their set, they can contact you by whichever way you set it up. I have sold a couple of coins this way.

So enough rambling.....

The coin I am talking about is the 1938-D Buffalo Nickel. This one is in an old green holder as you are all aware I love buying coin in these holders. They are notorious for upgrades and I have a 100% rate on upgrades that I’ve submitted so far. It was graded as an MS66 which is an extremely high grade on old coinage. But the luster and detail on this coin are without a doubt a higher grade.

I have shown this coin to several dealers and they all agreed that it was an MS67 or MS67+.

Buffalo......

F9A1854A-4558-4CA9-AB66-F4345E574B95.jpeg

0B515F32-90D2-4285-B922-E1E1F30EDD7D.jpeg

6D9A8412-0100-48FE-AE15-5B3CCA88D7C1.jpeg

If anyone has questions about this post please let me know below.

Thanks for stopping by.....
A11B8F79-EEAF-4C02-9113-FA7D0AB92184.jpeg

Sort:  

tumblr_o1l9oxxDXY1u8jy4io2_400.gif
You just received a 100% upvote from @rewards-pool. Thank You for being apart of the @rewards-pool community

Being a newbie I didn’t realize those buffalo one oz silver rounds were based off of this coin. You are the slabbed change master. ☺️

Yep. It’s also the one ounce gold coin as well. Which i want aoooooo bad. I was a very serious collector back in the day. Now I try to find coins that are overlooked and undervalued to buy. I been hitting on a bunch of them. While i like bars and rounds, there’s only so much i can take with the prices staying stagnant. There’s a bunch of money to be made in coins. I’m trying to educate the community as i go.

That is a great looking coin @silverd510! What do you think the odds are of finding any in circulation?

I find them in my change every once in a while, but they are always in horrible condition and worthless.

Yep, high quality coins seem to always have a good Investment potential especially when I or many of us can't grade accurately enough.

Theres only so many to go around. Its a beauty, even better then the pictures show.

Sharp & shiny buddy 😎👍

It looks better in hand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67