The Bathurst NSW Australia Gold Panner.

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

This guy is a full on gold bug, he pans for gold 24/7 at a place called Bathurst NSW Australia and has been at it for decades.

Groundsr-12.jpg
photo sourced from: bathurstgoldpannermotorinn.com.au

450px-GoldPanner.jpg
photo sourced from Wikipedia:

hope you enjoyed my post and thanks for the visit, cheers.

Sort:  

I have seen this dude on my trips to the great race an a few occasions. :o)

Cool, gold and cars what else do you need other than a beer, cheers mate.

I saw this statute when I was a kid, I sat in his pan, lol.

Didn't you see the sign there lyrica, naughty you, cheers mate.

I feel as I am touring in Australia. Good feeling.

I'm glad you think so, it's an awesome country to tour my friend, cheers.

Reminds me of my trip to Australia in 2010. We also visited Bathurst. We saw cricket and had pizza right behind the church. I did not see this panner.

He's been there since 1979 at the Big Gold Panner motor inn on the Great Western Highway, cheers mate.

And has he found something yet? :)

Bathurst, is that where the race track is? Man, thats a really difficult one - especially the part where it goes steep down hill with lots of turns. I always screw up there...

Btw., why does it say "dont climb on the man" - how big is it?

I think the only nuggets he has found are made of chicken, Lol. You are correct, we call it the great race, it's 161 laps totaling 1000km. The statue stands over 5 meters tall, so I guess they don't want fools falling off and hurting themselves, cheers mate.

5m... I would have guessed 2-3m, from the trees behind it. But photos can be misleading sometimes.

Yes, I have seen a number of races held in Bathurst, the Supercar series, but even 24 hour races I think. Way back it even had a Formula 1 race, if I remember correctly.
I know it from the Project Cars simulation (and some earlier ones), and I always struggled there. I can drive there - but not really fast enough to compete. It has a few really mean turns, that suddenly kick you in the back side when you dont expect it.

How's that for a bit of scale, cheers mate.

7982441144_68698ac58d_b.jpg

Yes, that shows it much better. And he changed his outfit, too. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62685.52
ETH 2436.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51