German Police Arrest Suspects In Theft Of Massive 100 Kilogram Gold Coin

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

The German police have arrested suspects in the theft of the Canadian coin which had a face value of about $1 million and a weight of 100 kilograms or 220 pounds. It's actual value was more like $4.5 million and was stolen from the Bade museum in Berlin in March the coin is called the“Big Maple Leaf” and was produced by the Royal Canadian Mint.

the big maple leaf.jpg
Image source : Wikipedia

http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2017-07-12/german-police-arrest-suspects-theft-massive-100-kilogram-gold-coin

Sort:  

How is it that I can track an iPhone if I lose it, yet a $4.5M GOLD coin is nowhere to be found? Can someone comment on this?

Yeah pretty poor security by our German brothers, I would expect a lot better from them. Maybe it was an inside job!!!

Damn!!! Thats a chunk of gold

Wouldn't mind putting that in my pocket. Lol

You got that right!

Oh man, that's a lot of bitcoins!

That's a lot of ounces my friend. Cheers

I remember hearing about this. Nice try tho lol

Pretty poor security by the old Germans my friend, I wonder if it's been melted down. Cheers

Interesting - nice find SB

Thank sk As us Aussie's don't like to be beaten, I put a post on about our 1000kg gold coin. Cheers mate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58510.90
ETH 2522.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36