A 1860's water Wheel for Powering the Rock Crushing Batteries.

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

This water wheel was imported from England in the 1860's to power the rock crushing batteries at the goldfields.

IMG20181116105625.jpg

IMG20181116105601.jpg

IMG20181116105547.jpg

Water Wheels like this powered numerous mining enterprises around the goldfields. They were fed by miles of hand-dug water races.

IMG20181116105701.jpg

IMG20181116105518.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my post and thanks for the visit, cheers.

Sort:  

This is cool, you could use this to make electricity for free, I like it thanks @silverbug.

I guess you could if you have a constant water supply, cheers mate.

That's pretty cool, looks awesome for it's age thanks mate. :o)

Sure does, it's pretty old isn't it thanks mate, cheers.

A different one. I like it! Cheers.

Thanks mate, glad you like it, cheers.

I think the Water Wheel could produce enough Electricity to Operate a Water Pump, able to turn the Wheel, with enough Electricity (Left-Over) to run something else... I wouldn't mind having one of those Water Wheels in my Back Yard, to help power my house... I'd want to Seal it, to cut down on Water Loss and the Sound...

I think you would have to have an independent water supply to generate power and I think it would able to turn a generator to power your house. But you are right it would be a bit noisy, cheers mate.

So you think the Water Wheel & Generator could Power my house, just so long as it doesn’t have to Power my Water Pump...??? What if it Powered a Water Pump that's used to turn a Different Water Wheel...???

Looks great for about 150 years old.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it has been restored, but it still looks pretty good, cheers mate.

Yes it does look good.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes it does look good.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50