A LOVE Token - Stacking some unique silver.

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

A Love Token

What is a love token you ask?

Love tokens are generally defined as coins where one side (or sometimes both sides) has been smoothed down and engraved with initials, names, phrases and/or scenes. These were often given to young ladies as “tokens of love” by suitors. source

I have seen a lot of love tokens, and some are better than others. Some of the designs are really impressive and the amount of time it took shows just how interested they must have been.

I picked this up at my LCS today - Made from an 1839 Seated Liberty Dime It looks like it was made into a pin at one point.

20181005_124036.jpg

20181005_124042.jpg

Look at that detail

20181005_130409.jpg

Looks like an old pin

20181005_130334.jpg

90% silver - 100% bad ass!!

I love this thing, and I had to snag when I was picking up some silver!!. I missed an epic one a few weeks ago - and I regret it. That one was a very details carving, very reminiscence of sacred geometry patterns.

It would be amazing to get to know some of the history of this piece, when it was made, for whom, did it work?!?!

I would have gotten half way done, and messed it up only to have to start over again...

That's all for today.

Stack on!!
~Senstless~



Consider signing up for @dustsweeper to avoid losing upvotes to dust. (Currently capped at two dustsweeper votes per day)!

SttemSilverGold.jpg

image (1).jpg
(^^ made by Willsparks88)!

Sort:  

A love token... hmmm... I have received a couple of love tokens... special tiny gold coins gifted to me with love. They are indeed very special to me and carry them in my purse every day. I have not come across any that you show here... quite interesting!!!

That is awesome, congrats on getting some!! - I have only recently started to see them. I saw a log more hobo coins then love tokens.

I mock the dimes, but this one with it’s conversion to love token is totally cool. And that looks like an “F” pleasing the Finney in dfinney even more. ☺️

You mock dimes?? - I love 90% dimes. Especially some barber, seated, bust stuff!!!

Someone certainly had some flair when carving this.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

90% silver - 100% bad ass!! - HAHA!
That looks like tedious work but it's an interesting find.

Thanks!! My LCS has seems to get in a bunch of odd stuff from people.

BTW it looks like might be a bit of a stacker? The grim reaper coin and a couple of peace dollars!!! Keep up the good work and enjoy my penniless upvotes on your articles!!

Cool man, thanks! Yeah, I've always been into old coins and had a small collection growing up. I've only recently gotten into more of the bullion side of things, and I dig it! I've got a long ways to go though, but I love that there is a community on here that shares their spoils. I'll definitely be sharing more in the future and I'll obviously be watching your posts too!

I had never seen such thing! I loved it!

They are interesting when you find them - there were a few others but the designs didn't jump out at me.

They ruined a ton of coins in the old days with pins, jewelry, belt buckles, money clips and more. What a fucking waste.

I hear ya - but how many good/rare/error/rpm cents were ruined in the penny rolling machine. I am guilty - the the cheapest souvenir I can let the kids get!!!

At the time these were not special - it was a dime. Much like the hobo nickles. Only now is it worth a lot more - the same can be said when vintage silver gets melted... its a waste, just like my dads baseball cards from when he was a kid that got tossed. In the late 80's early 90's he could have bought a new car when them....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82