1878 Liberty Seated Quarter - Newest silver coin to my collection

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

I was able to pick this up from a friend a few weeks ago when three of us went to lunch. Since I didn't have the oppertunity to get anything new for the stack I decided to show this one. While I did missed out on quite a few really nice seated dimes he had that were snatched up by a fellow collector, this one fell to me.

This is my first liberty seated quarter made from 1838 - 1891, I think it still had plenty of details left to it considering how old it is. While clearly not part of the "stack", it was still a nice pickup of numismatic 90% silver.

Coin Stats When Minted
Weight: 6.25 Grams
Diameter: 24.3 mm
Mintage: 2,260,000
Content: 90% Silver 10% Copper

Seated.png


Can still make out the Liberty on the Shield


f1.JPG


Too bad most of the Motto of "In God We Trust" is worn, the shield on and eagle is still in pretty good shape.


r2.jpg

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

Great pickup! Hard to find them in even this condition!

Thanks! - I agree too often I see them as more of just the outline, as soon as they start to get decent they are usually slabbed.

Great pick up, love the old vintage coins👍

I agree - pretty good looking for 140 years old, I won't age that gracefully.

I worked at Wal Mart one Christmas season. Had to start bringing in a handful of my own change and I ended up getting half a roll of silver quarters and a bunch of silver dimes. Nice little bonus after two months of $7.50 an hour lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67