"The Face on Mars" Numismatic Weirdness

While I am much more a stacker than a collector, this one I came across years ago tickled my fancy:

Attachment-1.jpg

It is Liberian legal tender ($50) dated 1996. Not worth much, but weird for sure. I keep it on my desk as a table medal because it is among the stranger designs I have come across in my numismatic adventures and it alludes to a topic I have personal interest in.

mars.jpg

In this book by Graham Hancock and Robert Bauval, the authors presents their research on anomalous structures on Mars, which are suggestive of an advanced human civilization formerly inhabiting the Red Planet. Of course, Hancock makes no such claim, but the evidence is compelling to say the least. The "Face" is just one of many buildings and pyramids that form a massive "city," one whose geographical and astronomical alignments defy statistical probability.

mars2.png

Back to the coin: I wonder who the hell commissioned the design? Is there a social agenda or ideology behind the inscription? Is this seemingly official acknowledgement (legal government tender) of the face on Mars some sort of partial disclosure? Does it allude to the SSP?

What do you think?

Sort:  

I love this coin so much, whether or not this is a government acknowledging life on mars we will have to wait and see. Probably not but would be cool, i personally think moons like Europa harbour the best opportunity for some sort of alien life.

That's a wonderfully weird coin! I like it.

A very interesting coin. I would like to be in the collection

Hi, I found some acronyms/abbreviations in this post. This is how they expand:

AcronymExplanation
SSPSpace-based Solar Power
Please leave an up-vote if you find this comment usefull.

That's so cool, love space exploration stuff. Did you ever see the coins made from parts of the mars rover prototype

I've seen plenty of the Mars Rover medals, but was not aware they were made from prototype parts. I have seen tiny coins issued by the Franklin Mint, which were said to have been made from silver melted down from the Apollo missions. Cheers.

Wow greate article!
You just got a 11.98% upvote from @postdoctor!
Thanks for using the @postdoctor service!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82