Indian Head Vintage Silver, Sunshine Mining, & a Mystery Round

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

My Local Coin Shop (LCS) told me that if I brought him any more generic silver rounds believing that they were coins struck on the wrong planchet he'd get out the cattle prod. No thanks! This is NOT, I repeat NOT an indian head penny. It's a generic silver round. That's ok with me.
IMG_1559.jpg
I played with the light a litte bit today. The toning is dark golden brown, very even, and shiny on this one
IMG_1560.jpg
the indian head's reverse

I understand Sunshine Mint was Sunshine Mining... maybe one of our more experienced numismatists / silver stackers can correct me if I'm wrong or shed some light (some sunshine) on the relationship.
IMG_1563.jpg

IMG_1562.jpg

With some of these vintage rounds if you get the light just right they look old, beat up, dull and spotted. Why bother? In a different light though, they're beautiful.

Who makes this one?
IMG_1556.jpg
I enjoy the radial pattern on this round. It reminds me of a poker chip, or some of those new security features...

IMG_1558.jpg

I got a couple of more days worth of these "vintage" generics. Not sure what I'm going to post tomorrow. I do have the day off, so may have more time to dedicate to posting.

I very much appreciate all the comments and support.
SSG.png

Sort:  

In your last photo, the eagle looks like a cock preparing to fight. That is not a majestic eagle position...

Now the question is, will you do a trade for a silver Indian with a real Indian? ;)

Lovin these generic vintage rounds bud! Keep em comin! The one looks like a old A Mark.

That bottom coin appears to be an International Trade Unit. But the design on the reverse is different. Cool coin. Here is the link.

International Trade Unit

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68481.33
ETH 2722.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75