# 71 - The Koalas - Part 1

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

After posting dozens of articles about Canadian commemorative coins, I will write today about something different.

I will write about Australian bullion coins. To be more precise, about the "Koala" series.

I don't know why, but this series touch my heart. The coins are minted by the Perth Mint since 2007. Each year they change the reverse, depicting one or two Koalas.

Although they are bullion coins, the Mint call them a commemorative series. They can be found as a 1 Kilo, 10oz, 1oz and 1/2 oz silver coins. In 2018 the Mint started offering a 2oz coin also.

The ones I will show you are 1oz coins, with 99.9% silver purity and Brilliant Uncirculated finish.

The first is the 2007. The reverse is a Koala clinging to a tree branch, with shimmer background. The obverse is always the traditional picture of Queen Elizabeth II. Its mintage was 137,764 coins. Note that the date sometimes appear on the reverse, sometimes on the obverse along the series.

DSC_0112.JPG

Now we have the 2008 coin. The reverse is the image of a mother and baby Koala sitting on a tree branch with a shimmer background. The mintage of only 84,057 was the lowest of the series and you can find this coin on Ebay for about US$80.

The third is the 2009 coin. A simple Koala on a branch with shimmering background. The mintage jumped to 336,557 coins.

DSC_0111.JPG

Tomorrow I will show you the three following Koalas in this series.

I hope you have enjoyed this article.

Thank you for reading. Please comment, upvote, resteem and advise me.

Sort:  

I like all Perth Mint coins. It is apparent that they are capitalizing on their popularity as a mint. Rightfully so. After all despite market manipulation, it is still the economic laws of supply and demand that rules the market place. And their products are consistently beautiful. I just hate the pricing of their new coins, like the Swan, the Imu... I see those two coins as a challenge to a stackers common sense. I have one Koala each per year that I started stacking. And one Kook, and one Panda, and one.....

I have all the koalas but I have not the old pandas and the old kookaburras. Too expensive...

I ordered one of the new 2oz koalas last night, cant wait to see it, i think it is basically a chunky piedfort koala

It is simply bigger than the 1oz. As I like the Queen's Beast series, I will try to buy this 2oz also.

Nice one buddy,and great post.. really liking the first design of the koala 🐨

It is a so strange animal that I sympathize with him.

We love Perth silver, We have no silver Koalas, we need to fix that lol we do have a platinum koala though. Thanks for sharing

I have not a gold or a platinum Koala. To tell the truth, I have no platinum coin...:=(

we have a couple and it is a very pretty metal, we also have a couple of Palladium coins and right now on the mission for more gold LOL

Love the Koalas. I have one of each year. The 2017 was the first silver I bought for myself. ☺️🐨

Tomorrow I will show the next three coins. If you want, show the others in your articles. It is good to see a fellow koala lover.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

That koala looks really cute in those coins mate.

Yes, Perth Mint did a wonderful job.

This post got upvoted by @goldenwhale

✔ Upvote Service for Minnows │ 2.5x upvote Return

This post has received upvote by @bestboom!
|| An upvote service which gives 2.5x return ||

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50