# 63 - The Canadian Silver Dollar - Part 1

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

I have been posting dozens of articles about Canadian commemoratives, but now it is time to show you some circulating silver Dollars.

The funny thing is that all of them were issued as commemorative circulating dollars.

All of them weight 23.3g with 80% silver purity.

First we will see the "George V Silver Jubilee". It was issued in 1935 to commemorate the 25th Anniversary of the Reign of King George V. The reverse design was used till 1966 with five exceptions that I will show you. The obverse was always the picture of the reigning king/queen of England.

This is the most common circulating silver dollar. As I don't have the 1935 coin, here is a 1963 coin.

DSC_0076.JPG

DSC_0078.JPG

Next we have the 1939 "Royal Visit". It commemorates the visit of His Majesty King George VI and future Majesty Queen Elizabeth II to Ottawa. The reverse features a stylized version of the Canadian Parliament building located in the country's capital city, Ottawa.

The third is the 1949 "Welcome Newfoundland". It commemorates the entry of Newfoundland into Confederation. The reverse features a view of "The Matthew," the ship on which John Cabot sailed on his voyage to Newfoundland in 1497.

DSC_0074.JPG

DSC_0075.JPG

These coins circulated in Canada and now can be found with very small premiums above spot.

In a few days Part 2 will come.

I hope you have enjoyed this article.

Thank you for reading. Please comment, upvote, resteem and advise me.

steemsilvergold.png

Sort:  

I look forward to seeing more !!!!

I will post Part 2 next Wednesday.

I love Silver Canadian dollars and USA Morgan and Peace dollars. Thanks for sharing! DR

You will see more in a near future. :=)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

These are all really cool, I like the third one the best because of the 'The Matthew' on the reverse.
I think I might start collecting a subcategory of coins that just have ships on them since I like them so much.

Did you see @silvervessel collection? If not, go to his posts and have a good time.

yes I have, great stuff over there!

My heart goes - 'thump..Thump..THump..THumP......THUMP' every time I see silver coins. :-)

Nice coins man.

The King George silver dollars are looking right buddy

They are the best circulated ones that I could find.

Nice showing my friend. They put out some nice coins. And they stay in great shape because of the 80%, most are still in famb condition.👍

The three coins I showed today are in excellent condition and they are circulated. The blemishes are on the capsules.

I'm really glad you're posting every day. Nice coins my friend. Thanks for sharing.

On May 2nd I will not post because I will be flying back to Brazil. I intend to post everyday till I have no more coins to show...

This post upvoted by @bestboom!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60514.84
ETH 2575.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56