# 258 - The Discovery of America - Part 4

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

We will now finish the "5th Centennial of the Discovery of America" series 1, minted in 1989 by the Real Casa de la Moneda, Spain.

All the coins have a 92.5% silver purity and Proof finish.

DSC_0932.JPG

The first coin is a 500 Pesetas, weighting 6.75g. The obverse depicts King Juan Carlos I.

The second coin is a 200 Pesetas, weighting 3.37g. The obverse depicts King Juan Carlos I initials and crown.

The third coin is a 100 Pesetas, weighting 1.68g. The obverse depicts the crown.

DSC_0941.JPG

The first coin reverse depicts a Mayan sculpture.

The second coin reverse depicts an astrolabe.

The third coin reverse depicts Palenque, a Mayan city.

DSC_0939.JPG

I hope you have enjoyed this article.

Thank you for reading. Please comment, upvote, resteem and advise me.

ssg toon.jpeg

Sort:  

A very interesting series. It is a pity that the King appears too much. They could put more historical facts instead of the King...

Another problem with this series is the lack of information about the coins. Numista has very few info and I can't find any site on Internet that would help me to write the articles. Even the site of the Casa de la Moneda has no info about this series.

I always enjoy looking at the coins from different countries. Especially, when those designs tell a story.

Thank you for the visit. There are three more series about the Discovery of America that I will show. Do not miss them.

@ronaldoavelino really enjoying this series! Like the history and love the display! Thanks for sharing!!

Thank you, my friend. This is the first of four series, each one in a different year(1989,1990,1991 and 1992) and all related to the Discovery of America. I bought all four series when I was in Spain visiting my other daughter, last October.

Great biy and really enjoying it!!

Beautiful designs on that series, @ronaldoavelino! Stay warm!!! And enjoy the snow season in Canada where you are vacationing now. Unless I go up the Tahoe area, there is no snow in California either, just like Brazil!

I can tell you that I hate snow. I am not used to it and as the years pass, we old people want the sun more...

You have received an upvote from the CryptoSicko Delegation Bot. Thank you for supporting and helping to build me

Thank you very much for the upvote.

Loading...

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64440.63
ETH 2653.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80