The Golden Rider ..... The hunt is on!

This year I have set a challenge for my self. It is my goal to enrich my historical coin collection with one the the most wonderful golden coins in Dutch history.

The Golden Rider (Gouden Rijder)

A45E8275-541C-4C1A-AE60-6240935D5F96.jpeg

This coin had it’s first strike in the late 1500’s in the Dutch province of Gelre. Later on the coin was also minted in the other six Provinces at that time.

FYI: In those days The Netherlands was called The Republic of Seven United Netherlands (provinces).

The coin was in circulation until around 1764 and mainly used for large financial transactions an trade purposes, because of ifs high intrinsic value.

The first coins 1581-1645 did not have a face value, only an intrinsic value. From 1749 till 1764 the face value became 14 Dutch Guilders. In that time that was a hell of a lot money😉

The diameter of the coin is 28 mm, it weighs 10 grams, the coin contains 22 carats of Gold

This coins is not extremely rare, but most of the time they are of poor to moderate quality. Mostly due to the fact that the were used as jewelry or are baring the marks, scratches and dents of time.

The coin I am looking for must be of the highest quality. For years I am only occasionally looking for the coin but this year the hunt is on!

Lately I was at an auction house, where a fine example was for sale. My hope to buy the coin was high.
Unfortunately I was not able to win this lot so my quest goes on. The coin was of FDC quality and was sold for EUR 1.400,00 exluding the auction fee.

As I said, the hunt goes on and as soon as I have bought one, the SSG community will be the first to know.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

I like collecting rare coins myself :)

It’s fun and exiting, isn’t it😀

@rolf.bakker. Yeah :) mostly I collect rare coins that are still in circulation :) I like paying cash for this reason :)

Who is the horseman depicted in the coin?

What I know it is William of Orange, the first Dutch “Stadhouder” (President as we call it today) of The Dutch Republic. The Netherlands became a kingdom under the French occupation in the late 18th century with King Lodewijk Napoleon, succeeded by King William the first in 1815.

Ah, father of the Fatherland! His Wikipedia entry is fascinating 👍🏽

cool stuff. I do not have any historical coins but it is interesting.

fyi for people interested, this is a great book about the Dutch colonization of New Amsterdam and the ongoing effects of why NY became what it is today specifically due to the Dutch influence.

https://www.amazon.com/Island-Center-World-Manhattan-Forgotten/dp/1400078679

Catawiki has some sometimes. Good luck ! And beware of the auction costs sometimes 22%!

I know, but for the quality I am looking for, specially in combination with its price which will be very high, I would like to see the coin first before I buy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58194.53
ETH 2364.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37