Junk Silver??

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

I was able to get my hands on these nice silver Dutch 2.5 Guilders, also called “Rijksdaalders”.

I could buy them for a good price (under silver spot price) from a merchant at a “philately or stamp” fare. He had a small section with mainly Dutch coins.

I think I bought all of the 2,5 Guilder coins he had. He even gave my a silver Guilder as a gift. I think he was glad to make some money cause looking at the prices for stamps nowadays, they are bad!

CD8F713F-930B-4A75-AB7E-62B208A55E08.jpeg

I really like these coins, with the late queen Juliana. The Silver versions were minted between 1959 and 1966 with a total of 47 million pieces. They weigh 15 grams, are of 720/1000 of Silver and contain 10.8 grams of Silver each.

Compared to the older Rijksdaalders, minted under the reign of queen Wilhelmina, these queen Juliana coins are a cheaper buy, looking at the Silver value only. I think a lot of people don’t see the value in it, or the collectibility of these coins.

Many of these coins have been melted so they will become scarce.

These coins are often called “Junk Silver”, but how can coins like these called like this? For me I see history, childhood memories and solid sound silver.
In those days we really had sound money in our wallet. Not these stupid coins the call money nowadays.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

first bought "junk silver" (us) in 2003..about 8.00/oz...never sold an oz. (unfotunatley)..but it's time is coming agian soon...good post.

Nice Junk, I feel the same way about the Morgan and peace dollars.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65