When will you know?

I started my silver stacking journey roughly 3 years ago. I really to this day can not figure out what made me google silver that day. I was not raised in a family that talked or had any knowledge of silver. Maybe it was a sign, I always get asked what got you started in silver? Really, I do not have a clear and defined answer to that question, I will leave it at LUCK.

Now when I started, I spent alot of time watching and listening to Mike Maloney, even read his books. This guy is amazing so if you havent read his books, I would recommend doing so.

I started small, I can remember my first order, like it was yesterday, 5oz sunshine bar and a 1 oz sunshine bar, it was just big enough to get free shipping from Apmex. Once I got that package in, I was hooked.

I really started to do some research on silver, and as the years went buy I learned little things that have helped me in this silver journey. Couple of those little things are, never use a credit card for your purchase, you will end up paying 4%more for your purchase. Another one is never pay for shipping, always hunt out free shipping.

One thing that I have never been able to come to the conclusion to is, how much is enough, and before you say it I relize that you can never have enough silver, but what is really enough?

20160307_172450.jpg
First picture of my stack.

20160610_152908.jpg
Is this enough?

20160812_171813.jpg
It sure is nice to pull the stack out

20160925_142412.jpg
Not quite done yet.

20170106_155837.jpg
Last picture, I have not taken a new picture in over 6 months. I keep my silver at several different locations. It is to hard to pull it all together for a new picture, thankfully I have trustworthy family member that provide some storage locations.

So back to my origanial thought, what is enough, and when will you know you have reached enough?

I would love to hear some feed back from other stacker, and even non stackers. I am sure that this question has ran threw you head before.

Follow me @raybrockman

Dont forget to upvote.

Sort:  

Some seriously Impressive shit right there! That's a pirate's dream!

Well I am not to for sure its large enough for a pirates dream. But i agree it is some serious shit,,,lol thanks for the comment and visit my friend.

Bro very soon you will have enough silver that is equal to your weight If you keep it up 🤣

I hope so, then I will try to match my wifes weight, then my kids and so on. Keep stacking my friend.

That is some serious stack. Answer to your question is not easy as it varies from country to country and individual to individual. So here's my thinking. If I were in countries such as India or China I would have a very high percentage of my net worth in gold and silver. This is because in those countries silver and gold are easily recognized as money and are considered generational wealth. I wouldn't invest all in those countries as the fixed income via bank deposits still is pretty lucrative at about 7% per annum.

I am in USA so my stacking calculations are different. I take one year of my living expenses then double it and that is the value of silver that I would like to stack. I take 1/50 of that and that is the value of gold I would like to stack. So if my annual living expenses are say $20,000, I would like to have $40,000 worth of silver and roughly $1000 worth of gold. The amount of ounces will vary based on your average price.

The reasoning for doubling is future inflation.

Once this is reached, then start paying off your debt and start diversifying into other asset classes such as cryptos and real estate (farmable). Once that is reached, go off-grid!

I don't stack silver to get rich but merely to maintain my lifestyle. To be honest, when SHTF in a real bad way, it is your skill set especially the ability to grow food is what is going to come in handy. Stocking of seeds, thus become more important than anything else.

@ajain , really appreciate your insight and plan. You are right about not stacking to get rich. I stack simply because I know it will hold its true value. Not the value compared to the dollar, as for this is not a true value of silver. And yes you gotta beable to take care of your self when the SHTF. thanks for the visit and comment. Keep stacking my friend.

Very impressive, I wouldn't stop stacking

Wow! That's is one impressive stack. I wish I could weight in on when is enough but I wrestle with that same question. I'll probably add indefinitely but maybe progressive move away from weight and more toward just pieces I like and sets to complete.

Thanks for the visit and comment my friend. Keep stacking.

stack silver in your weight and gold in 1/50 of that. for example: if your weight is 160 pound, stack 2.556 ounces in silver and 52 ounces in gold. then, it is said, you are prepared for any crisis. membergreetings #steemsilvergold

Good answer...It's so Mesopotamian!

Problem is if you keep getting fatter, you gotta keep adding to the stack lol

That would be me, I would eat more to stack more.

sry, not both metals. silver in your weight OR gold in 1/50 of that.

Lol me too probably.

Good goal, never heard of this one before, thats alot of gold to have on hand. Keep stacking my friend.

But @pawos, I am massively obese.

pls, don't take it too seriously.

How much does this all cost to start doing? It looks like now is the time to start honestly, silver price has been going down right? :)

Time to buy a lil more hehe. I was honestly thinking of buying some just to have.

Its VERY CHEAP right now. Start stacking my friend.

About sixteen bucks. Stack em one at a time. Today's price is usually not tomorrow's!

When you have enough silver you will know it. If you don't know, you don't have enough. That's really vague, but also pretty true. Only you will know when you have enough. The number you think of is different from my number, and Joe Blow's number. I think for me, I will know it's enough when I can pay off every debt I have on Earth. Then I will do that very thing.

I hear you my friend, but if the price went to 300 an oz tomorrow, would you have enough. Ir are you talking about being able to pay off your debt at current silver price.

Currently silver price. Well, at any amount. When how much silver I have is worth more than total debt that I owe (cars and house) I will be selling most of my silver, plain and simple. I will never sell my whole stack, though.

That's not enough. Very nice and shiny though.

I think when you can sleep at night knowing that the next morning it may be at $300/ounce and you won't regret you didn't buy more.

I love seeing others stacks! This is quite impressive!

There is no such thing as enough..

I love all of your different pieces too! You have quite the variety.

Are you 100% in silver or do you have some gold as well?

I would say to keep buying until you get your cost per ounce down to where you want it.

I feel it is the most undervalued asset on the planet and will have it's day.

Thanks my friend, yes I do have some gold peices, very small 1/10 oz you can see them in the middle if the last picture. But yes you are correct with most undervalued.

Completely missed this until I blew up the picture!!

I should stack em all up. We have stashed buried, stored and stuffed in so many places. If I die and my children find em, I hope they put the stacks back and keep on stackin'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43