Vacation time!!

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Well I have been on Vacation this week, had a bunch of stuff to take care of, got the car yeaterday, hit the coin shop today and tomorrow heading to Birmingham, to take @sidewayzs13 to the heart Doctor. Nothing really exciting planed but I had to much going on and just decided to take a vacation.

Well today I went a little out of the way and drove 50 miles to hit the local coin shop. Kinda glad I did. They where running a $13 dollar for $1 face value of 90% silver US coins. So I helped then clean a littme of their inventory out.

20180425_160513.jpg

Ended up picking up $6 dollars worth of quarters and $2.5 in halves.

20180425_160647.jpg

Now I am not a big Junk Silver fan but at $13 for a dollar face value is a pretty good deal. Check out these halves, they where beat up and had diffently seen a few pockets in their time.

20180425_160701.jpg

All in all not a bad pick up, wished he would have had a better selection of bullion, but there is always tomorrow.

I dont stack to get rich, I stack to prevent becoming poor!

Proud supporter of #steemsilvergold

20180402_215318.png

Follow me @raybrockman

ephoto_1521240073319.jpg

Sort:  

Pro moves G!

My most favorite fractional silver are US Constitutional coins. Some stacking elders say that the best buy in US Constitutional silver are the Washington Quarters. When before I used to purchase Barbers and Standing Liberty quarters, I now mostly get the Washington quarters minted from 1932 to 1964 for stacking purposes. For halves, my favorite is the Walking Liberty! I hope you are having a wonderful vacation, my friend. WOW, driving 50 miles to a coin shop! Your fingers must be itching to hold shinies, and your ears are dying to hear their mesmerizing tinkling sound!

Brother, while many folks aren't big fans of junk silver (ie pre-1965 US quarters and dimes, which are 90% silver), when silver hits $100 an ounce, your 'junk' silver will be some of the only guaranteed items re: their silver content.

Just WATCH what happens with forgeries of bars and one-ounce eagles when that price has arrived!

I'll bet junk silver becomes the preferred manner of holding silver in less than a decade...
Watch what happens to the premium then...

😁

Upvote and resteem. Thank you for the great posts Ray. Haven't had a comment from you fro a while, so leave me a line when you can.

Nice score! Hope you’re getting some relaxation in too.

That's a very good deal, I paid 20 times face value for most of mine.

They look rough today, but they will look like treasures when the SHTF scenario. Those will spend well in the barter-towne of the apocalypse.

Gotta love those walking liberty halves. Even in worn condition they are easily the most beautiful US coinage.

Those a good pick ups. Not a huge fan of junk silver either, but when the price is right...

To the best of my knowledge , a piece of metal that’s 90% silver isn’t junk no matter how old it is. I don’t believe there’s junk in silver wares. It’s like saying junk Gold. I respect your opinion I was just sharing mine, I wasn’t trying to attack you

I’m not offended in any way my friend. I started out as a very serious collector of US coinage. I love it, but can’t stand seeing the beaten up versions which is known as junk silver.

Oh I get your point of view. Smiles, thanks for the elaboration

No problem at all my friend. Wish I still had my original collection....

Great junk silver pickups!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94