Free Silver! My First Coinstar Plunder!

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago

1.jpg


Free Silver!?

Yes, you can find it... there are some that do.

I'm a big fan of @kerrislravenhill's posts about her findings in coinstar machines and ever since first learning about her successes I've been actively searching machines any time I see one.

I don't go out of my way but if I spot a machine while I'm out and about, I go and check the discard / change tray.

I've probably been searching machines for a few months now all with no luck. I mean I haven't even found a paper clip or a dusty old penny... until now!


The Treasure

2.jpg

Here are the spoils of my first successful coinstar machine plunder! Lots of goodies in there... here's a breakdown of what I found:

Item Value Notes
American Quarter $0.25 Year : 1982, Mint : Denver
American Quarter $0.25 Year : 1999, Mint : ??? (totally worn)
American Nickel $0.05 Year : 2016, Mint : Denver
American Penny $0.01 Year : 2013, Mint : Denver
American Penny $0.01 Year : 2000, Mint : Denver
American Penny $0.01 Year : 2017, Mint : Denver
Canadian Dime $0.10 CAD Year : 1979
Canadian Penny $0.01 CAD Year : 2006
Canadian Penny $0.01 CAD Year : 2011
Carwash Token Says $1.00 Trade Value?! Probably worthless!
CTX 560 VB Token No Cash Value Probably worthless!
Flattened Penny No Cash Value M & M's World Las Vegas

So, what about the silver!?!

Oh yes, the silver... I left that out on purpose because I wanted to feature it!

Drum roll....


1951 Roosevelt Dime

I found a 1951 Roosevelt dime and this thing is made of 90% silver! It's got a face value of only $0.10 cents but a melt value of around $1.15! I found this little guy, so that's free silver! See the details of this dime below!

Front

3.jpg


Back

4.jpg


Edge

5.jpg


Mintmark

6.jpg


I was so happy to find this. I've been unable to spend any money on silver for awhile now and it has been seriously bumming me out... It made finding this silver dime extra special for me.

Do you search coinstar or related machines? Had any luck? Let me know in the comments! I'd love to hear the stories.


There you have it! My first successful coinstar machine plunder and I hit pay dirt with a silver coin!


If you enjoyed this post consider leaving a genuine comment and get an UPVOTE from me!

Sort:  

I've been getting junk this month, a useless token, hair pins and a few wood screws but still no silver! I gotta up my game more.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are doing it right, no need to up your game!
Sometimes you win and sometimes you lose... you seem to win more than most!
You're success is what got me started!

Man, for all the times I have looked, I only once got a score full of pennies. I have from time to time found a few Canadian but all current.

The best I have hopped for is a Wheat in the give a penny, take a penny, I can trade for!

I've never been a lucky person when it comes to finding treasures and things like this... but I think my repetitive checking bumped up my odds that eventually I was going to score! Keep at it, eventually you'll get lucky!

I did check out one Coin Star machine and I was not lucky like you and my sis @kerrislravenhill. What an exciting hunt! Congrats on your find!

Keep checking those machines, you're bound to find something some day!
It was very exciting when I looked and saw a pile of change in the slot...
I scooped it all up and put it in my pocket.
I didn't even know I found silver until I got home and looked at everything!

Plaaaaaaidd!!!! That is so awesome! And a dime no less!!! 🤣😂🤣

Great plunder! Congrats! ☺️

Hahaha! Yeah, I was pretty happy to find that silver dime. 😄
I haven't been able to spend any money on silver for awhile so this was a fantastic surprise!

Congrats @plaid! I have yet to find any silver, usually just some pennies or small change, but if we don't check then we will never find any. Haha!

Hey thanks @knowledge-seeker! Sorry I didn't see your comment until now!

I never have luck at the coinstar machines. Only ever find Canadian coins.

At least you find something! And I'm sure if you keep at it you'll get lucky one day!
For me this was the first time I've ever found ANYTHING in one AND got the silver...
I'm aware how lucky that is and truly grateful to have found it!

Congrats! Keep looking and more will be found!! Thanks for sharing!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @dwingsworld! After months of checking I was thinking I'd never find anything...
Now with this score I've got the motivation to keep looking for the rest of the year!

Congratulations @plaid! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63