This beast of a 1kg 2013 Australian Lunar Snake, is my least favorite coin I own, Let me tell you why!

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

I hate this coin! Really I do, I'm annoyed that I ever bought it, and I'll likely never be able to sell it.

This was in my first ever coin order, before I had any knowledge about silver bullion. I didn't know what kind of coins or silver I was going to like and collect. I didn't understand anything about premiums or what was available. All I knew was I wanted to invest in silver and I had a bit of extra money (before I had kids and a wife). The price was falling fast, many bullion dealers were defaulting or not fulfilling orders in a timely manner and there was talk of physical shortages of silver. So I went online to SilverGoldBull and mostly bought one or a few of everything different they had. (I think I still have photos somewhere from that first purchase and I'll likely reflect more at some point).

Well this lunker was in there.

IMG_4402.JPG

I hate is so much, looks like I couldn't even double check the photo I took earlier to make sure it was clear...sorry.

IMG_4376.JPG

Luckily I took this one the other day as well.

See how hideous.

It is kinda cool to feel the weight and appreciate just how massive and heavy it is. I'll compare it here to a 1oz and 10oz coin.

IMG_4401.JPG
IMG_4403.JPG

Anyways back to hating on it.

First of why does it only have a face value of $30.

IMG_4404.JPG

Mostly I'm annoyed by the premium I paid back then and the fact it doesn't even have seamed to held the premium. They are routinely selling for less that I paid back then. In fact I've found that the mintage was 31,933. I can't believe that there are that many of these floating around.

When I received it, it had a busted capsule, I didn't think anything of it. I should have complained and asked for a replacement or I should have replaced it in the first few years before it sat all these years. It has started to get some slight toning around the crack.

The last reason I don't like it, is that I hate snakes. They are so gross and scary. Why would I ever buy something with an image I don't even like. I have no special connection to 2013, or anyone born in the year of the snake. So there is no sentimental attachment either.

It was very impulsive to buy this, but I also have a lot of other regrets from that very first order. I would really suggest for everyone to do a bit of research before jumping into the bullion market with both feet like I did.

I do keep it around and out of hiding these days. It sits on my desk as a constant reminder to buy what I like and contemplate my purchases a bit better. Make more informed bullion purchases. Shop around and compare before clicking that buy button.

I think I will have to dig up those old photos and reflected a bit more one day for everyone and share what I've learned over the years of stacking.

I also leave it out, just in case I ever see a post anywhere that someone wants to buy this coin for at least as much as I paid....Hint Hint...wink wink.

Thanks for checking this out today and I hope to get back on track sharing some silver stacking content daily.


Banner by @bearone

Sort:  

I have one exactly like it. I think it's great! I love holding it right next to my 1 Kilo Rat (now that's a coin I paid an outrageous premium on!!!).

If, and when, silver and gold make their moon-shot, I'm positive these coins will retain their premiums due to their name and designs.

The 1 Kilo size is fun, I must admit that, but it's certainly getting sold. Maybe in a few years someone will trade it for a year of the pig coin.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by PheliMint from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Dude, if I had the extra bones, I would definitely buy it! Snakes are creepy as hell but there's something about them that intrigues me. Nice piece... at least I think it is lol.

Thanks man, as soon as spot is high enough to break even it's on the chopping block then for sure.

I think you should try to change your
Mind to this Coin ! It is a beautiful beast! Not many other commodities in the world is as manipulated as silver. It's like a Giant spring and once the market breaks you will love this coin ! Perhaps you will even kiss it haha

Yeah it's still silver right. It's better than who know's what else I may have paid that $1000 dollars for.

When it comes time to sell something, make it the first to go! The premium you paid gets absorbed into the larger picture, and you move forward with a streamlined stack and some dollas in your pocket (or btc ;)

Yeah, it's definitely to boot out the door once spot is high enough to break even.

Very good advice there @pheliment, to buy what you like and put some thought into it. Especially if you are new at the silver game. Later on with experience you can start investing in coins you may not like if you can spot a good deal.
That is also an impressive size coin to keep out on your desk, rather intimidating!

Yeah the size is amazing. It's an awesome piece to drop in someones hands.

i would just sell it or find someone that wants it and trade, if you take an average of the loss compared to your total stack it wont seem so bad :)

Yeah, I can't say I tried all that hard to liquidate it, I'm sure I could, I'll sit on it till the price is right.

I would like AU,CAD coins a lot better if the obverse had Dianna instead of who is pictured...

It's such a waste of canvas in my opinion. There's so much more opportunity.

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54461.78
ETH 2294.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28