Something Cool I Picked Up

I was at my local coin shop and I came across this pretty neat piece. I'll be blunt with you I am not a coin collector, I much prefer stacking weight rather than getting pieces with higher premiums, but this just sort of stuck out to me (and my girl said I should get it! I better put that in there because she would shoot me if I left her out of this story!):

thumbnail (1).jpg

thumbnail.jpg

I had to do a little digging because I've never seen something like this before so this is what I found. This is a part of a set celebrating the Bicentennial celebration in 1976. Originally it was coated in gold which it why it has that yellow tint to it. These were struck by the Fleetwood Mint in the 70's as patriotic art bars. If you know more or have some of the others in the collection let me know!

-nuclearsilver

Sort:  

I had to UP Vote this post @nuclearsilver just because @pit-bullion knows how much I love Unusual Silver Bars..............

Like that piece. Never seen it before. Nice pick up dude 👍

Were you able to find a photo of how it looked when it was gold plated originally? Nice find.....

Interesting commentary, "while the majority of those seen on the market - when they are seen at all - are just silver, without the gold, and stated as silver (only). " Not many grams of gold gained by stripping off the plate. Thanks for the link, very interesting.

Woah! That's a cool bar! What is the weight of it? Also, welcome to the SteemSilverGold community!

@goldenarms, check out this bar!

It's one ounce. It's hard to see in the, but on the bottom picture one there's some writing in the middle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40