Sick Of Gold & Silver? Let's Look At Platinum & The Next Pieces I'll Be Stacking

I've yet to buy any bullion this year. I decided last night that it was time to remedy that. As I was browsing the precious metal offerings after finally getting our power restored however, I was struck with a sense of boredom.

In the past I've varied my purchases, sometimes opting for bars manufactured by different mints. Some large, some small. I've purchased coins from around the world in varied sizes and of different designs but nothing really jumped out of the page at me time time around.

It struck me that I should pursue something a little different and a little more exciting - at least for now. Why not explore some platinum?

The name Platinum apparently comes from a Spanish term meaning "little silver" and indeed the appearance is similar to that of silver. Like it's gold and silver cousins, platinum is both rare and has industrial uses such as in automobile catalytic converters and electronics.

The latter is not surprising given that Platinum is actually more ductile than gold or silver; that is to say that it can be more easily drawn out into a thin strand or wire. It also has an excellent ability to resist corrosion.

According to Koeberl, Christian (1998). "Identification of meteoritic components in imactites":

Platinum exists in higher abundances on the Moon and in meteorites. Correspondingly, platinum is found in slightly higher abundances at sites of bolide impact on Earth that are associated with resulting post-impact volcanism, and can be mined economically; the Sudbury Basin is one such example.

This all sounds pretty neat to me and a good way to diversify a little within the sound money space. With that said, I introduce you to my next two purchases:

... first for something both different and discontinued ...

Struck from 1oz of 99.95% pure platinum, the classic Koala Perth Mint platinum coin ceased production in 2000, to be replaced with the Platypus in 2011, making this a classic. The Australian Koala portrays the classic Koala profile, the year-date, and the weight and purity of the coin. Issued as legal tender under the Australian Currency Act 1965, the coin’s obverse features the Ian Rank-Broadley effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

Reference 1

Reference 2

... and secondly something from London ...



Struck from 1oz of 99.95% pure platinum these beautiful minted bars come in individual tamper proof certi-cards and have individual serial numbers stamped on the bar itself not on the packaging.

The bars are produced by LBMA accredited Baird & Co. out of London. Baird & Co. were established in 1967 and have been a member of LBMA since 2000.

Reference 3

Sort:  

Fantastic looking coin, upto now I only have silver and gold but you never know. Thanks mike

The 2012 1oz Platypus has always been my favourite Platinum coin. I don't own it unfortunately though but I thought about buying it years ago because of the fundamentals surrounding Platinum.

Great article !

Platinum used to be more expensive than gold and then it flipped. Do you know why?

Platinum is sitting close to $1,000/oz so I'll probably try to get silver instead. It will allow me to build up more coins for the money. Why did the mint stop doing the Koala Bears? To make them collectors items?

Had to find this post ironic mate as I just posted about my first silver coin purchase made yesterday!

Of course it was some Australian koala's, cus how could I not!

Platinum may have to be my next foray!

I would like to get a bar like the one you have shown. Nice.

Dig it man! I’mma getting some moar!!!

Ooh Platinum coins. Who’d of thought. Well now I know I’d got to check them out a more closely

Great write up! we have some platinum and also palladium in our box with the silver and gold! Platinum is a great metal and there are some awesome options in the market. my favorite that we own is this one:82605_Slab.jpg

the next one I want is an Australian platinum Playtypus good luck! and Happy Stacking!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80