Sort:  

It’s funny that you mentioned that... I used to buy rolls of Morgan and Peace Dollars at the Bank, looking for Carson City Mint Marks... I never found any and kept turning the Silver Dollars back in... These days, I’ve been buying rolls of Clad Dollars, for reasons, only those who know me best, can testify to my reasoning...

@pocketchange my Dad taught me to save silver coins, I don't come across many anymore but once in a while one will show up but it has been a long time. He use to have lots of them but sold when he hit hard times.

That's what Silver and Gold are all about... They are Stores of "Spending Power"... People sell them for "Spending Power" in the Current Monetary Tool... Money is the Tool used to Measure Value...

Why turn in the Morgans and Peace dollars???

Nobody wanted them... People thought they were too heavy...

Bah. 90% silver is always good to have on hand.

We know that now, but Silver Dollars are no longer in Circulation... We don't even use the Billions and Billions of U.S. Clad Dollars... I've been telling everyone to Prepare for a Monetary Reset...

One of my library patrons has a penny squishing machine. He sorts out the new zinc core pennies and keeps the old copper ones for his machine.

@jacobtothe, that is interesting, I have always saved the wheat back pennies.

In the middle of the 1982 penny minting, they switched from 100% copper alloy to a copper clad zinc core. The zinc pennies are easier to squish but tend to show the core as they are crushed

@jacobtothe, why do you want to crush them?

He has his own dies for penny presses like you see at tourist traps, and he collects the souvenir squished pennies from around the country.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elongated_coin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53