You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Texas Commemorative Silver Half Dollar and 1 POUND Replica

Nice Texas half dollar. I specialize in Classic Commemorative half dollars. I believe I was the one to inform you of your round's connection to the Texas half dollar. Texas half dollars were made from 1934-1938. I own a 1936-D Texas half dollar. Texas half dollars retail for $195 in MS65 condition. Texas half dollars are considered a BARGAIN in today's prices. In 1989, Texas half dollars were selling for $700. The Texas half dollars really dropped in value over the decades.

Sort:  

Great info. Thanks for the resteem buddy!

I'd have preferred a 1936, the Centennial was in 1936, hehe... my Half is a year early. I got this coin for $165. The guy was a little mad. Said he paid $160 for it. He told me the table for the 3 day long coin show cost him $500. Wow! How's a guy supposed to make any money? Lol... He didn't HAVE to sell it to me, but he may have just wanted to generate some cash flow.

The tables at coin shows cost a lot of money to rent. Dealers try to sell off as much inventory possible at coin shows. That's why there's a lot of deals at coin shows. I agree, he probably wanted to get some extra cash from the coin. When buying slabbed coins at coin shows, it's best to get a Grey Sheet. The Grey Sheet is the most respected price guide on US coins. Grey Sheet is the nickname of the Coin Dealer's Newsletter. Be sure to check out my Russian gold video on YouTube!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65454.89
ETH 2948.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69