Is This Really the Ugliest Coin of 2018? The 2018 Fiji Silver Mermaid Rising

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

Golden greetings and silver salutations! I was watching a video by Salivate Metal about a new coin, which I have not seen mentioned anywhere else. Want to see the video? It is linked here.

I searched You-Tube and nobody else was talking about it. It is the 2018 Fiji Silver Mermaid Rising. He said it may be the ugliest coin of 2018! Here's the stock photo from APMEX (the only dealer I could find selling it).

mer.jpg

Image source here

mer reverse.jpg

Image source here

The reverse is fine, so let's focus on the obverse. Is it ugly...well, yes! It isn't even a full mermaid, just a face, torso, and some fins. But you know what, I think it could be a winner. It has this going for it:

  • A LOW mintage (15,000)
  • A decent price point (around $22 - $23)
  • It is a coin and not a round (albeit Fiji will put a dollar amount on almost anything, remember that coke bottle cap, that was a Fiji "coin").

I think it will fly under the radar and may appreciate. It reminds me a bit of this weird coin from last year, the bizarre Czech Republic / Niue combo coin (it actually lists both countries) . It had a similar mintage (10,000), cost about $26 at issue, and now APMEX wants $40 for it. Here's mine in its original bag from APMEX.

Czech Front.jpg

I say don't judge this book by the cover. I may be picking one up. There are multiple coins I want from various dealers. When I can buy them from one source, there will be an order coming.

I have to keep it quick this evening. My computer is low on battery and I don't have a charger. So until next time, keep stacking and supporting #SteemSilverGold, #SteemUSA, and #TheAlliance!

Alliance1.jpg

Steem USA Footer.png

Sort:  

LOL Mermiad? Cover up the letters I would guess that is the Greek mythical creatures series Medusa.

Maybe it's just a mermaid with snakes for hair 😁

I don’t think it’s that bad. However, like you said if it gets a reputation along with the low mintage it could rise in price.

I'd say an ugly coin is anything with the Queen's dastardly mug on it. Why are us stackers constantly forced to unwittingly pay homage to an insidious royal family?

She's on like half of the coins out there. She's hard to avoid!

AGAUNEWS.com says :"A good-looking coin we think, with a mintage limit that should generate excellent collector appeal with bullion buyers. Unlike some of Scottsdale’s other issues, we don’t believe this one will see a gold variant. This Fijiian series is turning into quite an attractive range."

They think that's a good looking coin? I wonder if it's better in person. The mintage limit is the selling point.

I think its pretty cool. It looks like islands in the ocean.

I see islands now too!

Well I hate Mermaids. And the coin design is indeed ugly. My personal views though!

No one is going to be mad at you for calling this coin ugly, that's for sure!

Like i said, it is my personal view

What about Mermen? King Neptune is pretty badass.

I dont mind it. Might be a great one to buy and flip as well!

I you'll have to hold this one a bit before flipping. It's not getting any hype...and I can see why!

The mermaid is not that bad. Over taste can be argued.
It will not stay forever. ;-)

Well it isn't the prettiest...to say it is the UGLIEST is pretty far, I just feel like there HAS to be worse...maybe not though.

I have the figi turtle and love it, not sure about this one though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53