I Bought A Coin From E-Bay...Is It Real? The Follow Up Post! Plus More Shiny!

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

Golden greetings and silver salutations! Over a week ago, I posted about the 2017 Falkland Islands "Brittania Rules the Waves" Variation coin I bought from E-Bay. You can see that post here.

I was worried that my variation coin may not be real, as it was packaged in a different manner as the "corrected" version. I decided to go to my local shop to chat with them about it. First off, one of the guys said "Hello, Mike". That was the first time that has ever happened. I don't feel I go there nearly enough for them to know my name. You do sign your receipt when you check out, so they have seen my name, I was just shocked they remembered me. So kudos on that.

Anyways, I struck up a chat with a few of the gentleman there. I asked them, since they buy far more metal than I, how they test their coinage. They stated they use one of these:

Sigma.png

They brought it to the counter and offered to test it for me, which I happily agreed to. I did not want to start taking photos while the guy was testing it, so I found a very similar tester online. The image source is here.

It tested as .999! Success! He tested one of my "corrected" coins, and it tested at .999 as well. Yay! The employees then told me a story about a guy who came in asking similar questions to mine. He had brought some "gold" in that he bought on E-Bay (notice the use of quotes). This individual's bars failed the test miserably.

Before I parted, you know I needed to do something to return the favor. What better way then to buy a little bit of shiny? I decided to pick up a couple of rounds, here is the first. It was minted by South East Refining Inc.

SE obv.jpg

se reverse.jpg

That is some cool looking shiny. I cannot find out much about it, but I do see similar coins on E-Bay.

The other round has "Silver Trade Unit" on the reverse. I looked online and found an old forum where people talked about these "Silver Trade Unit" rounds as being minted by multiple different companies. It is hard to say who minted this, but here it is:

silver trade unit obv.jpg

silver trade unit.jpg

I hoped you enjoyed my tale today. Until next time, keep stacking and supporting #SteemSilverGold, #SteemUSA, and #TheAlliance!

TL:DR - In the words of Kurt Angle when he was in TNA Wrestling, "It's real! It's damn real!". You may think I have the quote wrong, but he had to change the "It's true..." line when he left the WWE. You are a real wrestling nerd if you know this already!

Alliance1.jpg

Sort:  

Showed my dad " the coin expert " and he said its a sharp coin! Its crazy the amount of detail that goes into it and sometimes if one little thing is wrong or off it can be worth a hell of a lot more or less. I hope to follow in my dads footsteps and start collecting as well!

I wish I would have started collecting much sooner. If you do start, there are a ton of folks in #SteemSilverGold that can answer any questions you may have...and you have your dad too!

Im trying to get him on here to post some stuff I think he would really enjoy it since he's been selling on Ebay for over 10 years! Unfortunately he's super old school and besides eBay and research he doesn't use the computer for this sort of stuff! I will keep pushing though!

Thanks @mikeshuh will definitely look into it :)

Good buy. There are people on Ebay who can deceive on this there you have to be careful with the purchase

South's east refining round is Within a little cash. I got one too

They are cool little rounds! Also, I just wrote about my shipment from a certain Las Vegas silver pourer...you may know him ☺

#mikesunited

Some of the larger stackers - on YouTube - have such a machine as well. It is quite expensive. Electromagnetic field does the trick I believe.

They told me to come by any time if I want to test a coin, so I am happy to have some limited access to one.

Sweet buys! I'm glad your gold was real! And that South east round is particularly awesome!

It's silver...but the lighting in the photos do make these all look like gold.

I like those the eagles body is like high relief it pops out a bit. Looks like it has toning going on too. Nice one. 👍🏻

The rounds both have a bit of toning going on. Thanks for stopping by Mr V.!

Cool story. And equipment. All this talk of rounds...I’m overdue

I am really glad that the coin ended up as real.I can imagine how you would feel if the test would have been a failure.All you work and time that you invested in obtaining that coin would've been for nothing.

Thank you for contributing to the Steemit Community.Keep up the great work and I'm looking forward to your next posts.

Very glad that it was real!!! And how nice of the LCS to work with you on that. I like the pickups as well. Some nice vintage looking rounds. 👍🏼🍺🥓

Thanks! I love that they told me that any time I want to test a coin, to bring it on in.

I like those the eagles body is like high relief it pops out a bit. Looks like it has toning going on too. Nice one. 👍🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63114.90
ETH 2626.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72