2018 Republic of Chad Lion

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

Golden greetings and silver salutations! I recently wrote about a purchase from Modern Coin Mart of a couple of Wedge -Tailed Eagles. I decided to place another very small order from MCM for one more coin ($22.38, shipping included) to continue my set of the African Lion Series. This is the 4th installment of the series and features a close up of the lion's face. I have mixed feelings about it. Let's see the coin:

2018 lion obverse.jpg

It is so close up that it looks a bit like a giant furball. The lion's facial features blend into the hair. At a quick glance, it is hard to tell what you are looking at. I also do not feel like it photographs well.

And the reverse:

2018 lion reverse.jpg

I do like the reverse. It features a map of Africa and the country associated with it. The coin came with a small COA as well. Strangely, this is the 1st time I have received a COA for one of these. Here it is:

lion coa.jpg

My overall thought on this is that I probably would not have purchased it, if I did not have the other 3 coins. I'm going to keep buying at least one each year to keep my series intact. If you like them (and I really have up until this year), they are not an expensive series to collect.

This is the 1st time in the brief history of this series that they duplicated countries. The countries so far have been:

2015 - Burundi

2105 lion front.jpg

2016 - Congo

2016 Lion Front.jpg

2017 - Chad

Chad Lion Front.jpg

Hope you enjoyed seeing this series. Until next time, keep stacking and supporting #SteemSilverGold, #SteemUSA, and #TheAlliance!

SSG.png

Alliance1.jpg

Steem USA Footer.png

Sort:  

wow, amazing!

resteemed!!!

Damn! I have to blacken one of those. Would be sick!

Mike, I am sure you can make any coin look cooler than it already is!

I like the coin designs a lot but they really haven’t gone up in value at all so far. Thanks for the post👍

They really haven't the 2015s have gone up a couple of bucks, but that is about it. The rest can be found for the same price they were issued for.

Cool series. I'll have to check this out. I really like the reverse side with Africa showing. Nice pickups buddy!

Thanks, KP!

I liked the reverse side, showing where is Tchad. Do the other coins depict also the map of Africa with the country detached?

No, while last years was also Tchad, the 2015 and 2016 reverse sides are different and do not show the large maps.

Awesome coins! It's hard to get a picture that will do the coins justice. I can only imagine what they look like up close.

It is. I just use my phone to take photos, so they aren't the best quality. Every once in a while, they come out great. It wasn't so great in this instance.

Man those are some cool loins. Thanks for sharing

They really are. I am definitely continuing on the set.

You got a 2.54% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @mikeshuh!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Sweet looking coin right there! 👍🏼🍺🥓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49