You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [History] 1/4th of the Silver Supply, Recovered at WTC Building 4

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

Hey Ironshield! This is a great piece. I really like it. I knew about the vault, How can anyone who has watched the Die Hard movies NOT know about the vault? haha

So you asked for a Curation review of this piece, so here goes.

I think this is awfully close to qualifying for ANY curation guild. Only a couple of things stand out to me as possible negatives.

This is NOT in the rules, but some people don't like the Conspiracy tag, just a personal preference, and they may turn their nose up at any post with that tag. This doesn't feel realy conspiracyish, so unless it is pretty hard core consipracy, I would probably shy away from that tag.

I would never have found this post because I would not have hit any of the tags you have here. Find a tag that is suitable AND on the popular tags list. You are writing a story about the Silver here, so I would use Story. That tag would put it on my radar. Remember, tags are like search words, so if you want someone to see your post who is not already a follower, use tags people might be searchign for. Yes, this is a story about the silvereagle, but how many people are going to search for silvereagle? Steemsilvergold is a community, so that is a perfect first tag to get on the community page, make sure your other four get you as much exposure as possible.

Word count. The mentor I was working with would not consider anything under 700 words. This is certainly not a rule, and I had set my own minimum at 500. You meet the 500 word limit if the quoted text is included, if the quoted text is taken out, you fall a few words short at 491. This probably isn't going to make the difference between getting curated and not, but you asked, so I am trying to give you any possible answers.

Reuptation Score. I see you have hit 53 for your reputation score. If that happened before this post was published, Curie would not have looked at you unless there is a curator for the steemsilvergold community. Unfortunately, By Curie standards, you've made it! Congratulations. hahaha (doesn't feel that way in your wallet does it? I can relate!)

So there you have it my friend. This is a great piece! Well worthy of being curated. It's just a matter of being seen by the right curator to get nominated! Primarily, I would work on using tags that are likely to be "high priority" tags for curators. As I said above, tags = exposure, so work on that part. Otherwise, your content is awesome!

Hope this helps somewhat!

Sort:  

Wow, thank you for your feedback. I knew about the reputation issue, I figured I was sort of "out of bounds" for a curie award, but I'm always looking to improve the quality of my posts and maybe I could catch the eye of a curie curator.

Thank you for your advise on tags. I didn't know that the curators payed that much attention to them. It's funny that I added the "conspiracy" tag as an afterthought.

I appreciate your kind comments and taking time to review this article. Curie award or not, I hope to practice the kind of posts that a curator would say, now this is worth some attention. @ironshield

I would never have found this post because I would not have hit any of the tags you have here. Find a tag that is suitable AND on the popular tags list. You are writing a story about the Silver here, so I would use Story. That tag would put it on my radar

Thank you for this advise. I'll try to find more popular tags in the future to get more visibility. I wouldn't have thought to use the tag "story" but I can see how this could be seen as a story. It's probably not a bad idea to review the popular tags and select which is most appropriate. I use the "life" tag sometimes, is that frequented by the curators?

Well... With 700 some Curators on Curie's team, 25 on OCD, and a handful on other curation teams, there is probably someone for just about every tag out there.

Life is a very popular tag, but it is also a "high abuse tag", meaning there is a lot of content there that does not really fall under the life tag. If you want to see tag spam in action, check out any of the tags @surpassinggoogle has started with steemgigs, untalented and the like. People post to any tag they think will get them an upvote.

Again, this is only personal opinion, but I am going to the Life tag as a last resort because of that tag spam factor. But there may be curators who live in Life. But really want you want to focus on is the right niche tag. Art, sports, science, history, music, fiction. Those niches will get hit. Just because I didn't search the History tag doesn't mean there aren't curators who do. And if there aren't, if I ever become a curator I will pay attention to the history tag. Unsearched tags are a potential gold mine for a curator.

For me personally, I am a fan of creative writing, so the tags I was spending the most time in were fiction, story, writing, creative, and creativity. It's what I am familiar with, so felt the most comfortable recommending.

another small Curie tidbit for you. New curators get to submit Two posts in their first week, if they do not get both of them approved the following week they can submit one. If both get approved they can submit up to 15. Once you get a good curator rating, then you can take a few more risks and experience the occational rejection. But curators, especially new ones, are going to stick to posts they are comfortable with getting approved so as not to risk their curator status.

Good on you for trying to continue to improve. We all should strive for that sort of continued growth!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61248.96
ETH 2375.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55