Canadian silver dollar - uncirculated sealed sets

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

This is my third post on pre-1967 Canadian silver dollars (80% silver in content), this time focusing on uncirculated sets.

They come in annual sets, sealed by the Royal Canadian Mint.

The silver content in these sets are:
1 x dollar = 0.6 oz
1 x half-dollar = 0.3 oz
1 x quarter = 0.15 oz
1 x dime = 0.06 oz
1 x nickel = no silver content
1 x cent = no silver content

Totaling 1.11 oz of silver in each set

IMG_6931.JPG

You can see the wordings on the seals with the 'Royal Canadian Mint' along the inside edges between the coins.

I have bought sets from 1964 - 1966. It seems harder to obtain the 1964 sets, perhaps due to the special commemorative year for the silver dollar on the Charlottetown Conference 100th anniversary.

Please see my other post on the 1964 commemorative dollar coin: https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@khamen/charlottetown-commemorative-1964-canadian-silver-dollar

These sets come with a generic card, in both English and French, stating that they are uncirculated, and sealed but tarnishing still occurs (which I can see on some of my sets).

As you can see, the card is bent at the corner. These sets don't really come protected, just in a generic-looking brownish-yellowish envelope.

I don't really have any special way to protect the sets, just 'stack' them in piles. Hence, bent corners and all.

These sets have some numismatic value due to the Royal Canadian Mint, and are quite easily available for purchase, so these make a nice option for stacking!

Here is the link to my earlier post on why I favor the Canadian 'junk' silver coins, though I do not consider these sets as such.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@khamen/us-or-canadian-junk-silver-which-do-you-prefer

I hope this post provides some options for @steemsilvergold enthusiasts! Happy stacking!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84