This Solemn Christmas of 2018

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

R
Angel Image from Pixabay by KleineKiwi licensing under COO

My apologies to my friends for not posting this #Piratesunday

This Christmas may be just a bit different for me as help another single Mother cope with the loss of her mother who had moved in with her over a year ago from being evicted out of her home by a landlord company on dubious circumstances. I knew the single mother living in my suite well enough like a sister and with the rental costs now well beyond her Mother's means I couldn’t help but allow her to move in.

About two months ago that mother was diagnosed with advanced Cancer. She’s already had it for some time. About four days ago she was admitted into the hospital and two nights later I was told she had passed away.

While I have to put projects on hold to minister to my Tenant I think back from when I first met her mother. She was friendly, productive where she can, always offering to mow the lawn or other gardening tasks. She was that helpful pair of hands around to her daughter and grand-kids as to me, a model grand mom. I thought back when I decided to let her move in only now I realize how important it was to them, that this precious year was valuable time for them to spend together as family before her passing, a gift more priceless than I came to realize. Considering the Timing I believe this as a clear divine calling and I will answer the call from my Lord and Savior.

Here is a mystery round I found in my Father’s collection.

Since it is the Christmas Season among and my friends in the #steemsilvergold community there seems to be a bit of an unofficial ‘Smack down’ showing of their Christmas silver so I may as well join in.
I cannot find any information on this silver round. There are no privy marks, extraneous symbols, edge lettering to the clue of it’s source.

1

It does have a light warm toning certainly, a lovely coin that is meant as a Christmas gift for 1995.

I made an occasional search on eBay yielding no more information than I’ve already got. Have any of you more knowledgeable Stackers among us knows who made it? Mintage numbers? I’m not holding my breath as it being a long lost rare and obscure Engelhard round. A little holiday mystery in my father’s old stack.

Thanks and Merry Christmas

Kerris




Sort:  

@kerrislravenhill I do not Know who Minted this Silver Round. I would say that SilverTowne Mints a lot of These type of Holiday Silver Rounds Every Year. If I had to Guess That Would Be it...........

You're the wiz of the Bars. I figure you may know more than most of us as there could be some obscure catalogue around for it, Thanks.

There are sources and experience helps

You will be blessed as well for sure once, doing so much good. I did not really understood who lives where but that is not that important.

I am the landlady renting my suite to a Single Mom with kids and we've become good friends since. Her Mom was never able to find a rental apartment anywhere near her affordability so I let her move in with her daughter. Rental housing costs skyrocketed in the last several years, people living on pensions or social security can't afford the market rates end up homeless as every shelter is full. There are entire working families actually homeless in BC Canada and our Prime Minister wants to bring in a lot more people?

Good on ya being the courier of family solace in your model granny's last year. As for the xmas piece, you would know better than I😋🤗🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

It was a good thing she was able to spend the last year of her life with the family she loved, it was a gift in itself. from my professional experience a lot of those institutionalized don't get.

That’s the way you do it Raven — as you offer blessings, so shall you be blessed!

As they say, "Charity begins at home."

HOW on earth did I miss this post!!! Sis... I do not want to miss any of your articles!

Just lucky I guess.

Sis, @kerrisLravenhill... you have a H-U-G-E heart!

Waiting to see if the Government will try to claw back her late Mother's Rent subsidy. I told my Tenant not to worry about the whole rent and just her portion of it until things settle down.

Ho Ho Ho! @kerrislravenhill, one of your Steem friend wished you a Merry Christmas and asked me to give you a new badge!

SteemitBoard wish you a Merry Christmas!
May you have good health, abundance and everlasting joy in your life.

To see who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Why Thank you, and very Merry Christmas to you too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56