My 50g Geiger Bar has arrived but I can't touch it. Should I open the packet or leave it inside?

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

I won the 50g Geiger bar in one of @raybrockman raffles about a month ago but after a few weeks, I started to worry it had been lost in the post or had been stolen by a postal worker. Thankfully, I received a message from @welshstacker on the 8th of May to say that Ray had included the bar in a shipment to him and he would post it to me.

The package arrived at my house the day I left for a weeks holiday (after I had left) so I had to wait until I got home to see the bar but the first thing I did when I arrived home was to check the post.

I didn't really know what to expect as I only own silver coins/rounds and have never seen or held a bar, but I was not disappointed.

The detail on the bar is fantastic but as it is sealed inside a plastic case, I can't touch it. I really want to feel it in my hands but was wondering whether I should leave it in the case or take it out?

What do you think?

Jim

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

The case is only to protect the bar from the human hand. Remember that silver reacts with almost anything in due time, but you should not hurry these reactions touching it. If you wear gloves, why take this beautiful bar from the case? Silver also reacts with the air and sometimes the toning is ugly...

After reading the comments I am going to leave it in the case. The previous owner commented below that he managed to resist removing it for two years. It would be a shame for it to lost it's shine or get tarnished.

Thanks for the comment.

It’s a great little bar. Congratulations on winning it.

Glad it got there. Its a stunning looking piece, hope you enjoy it.

Thanks for sending it !!

Touch it with your eyes only.

It’s worth a little less out of assay card... usually when they come like this i leave ‘em in — but i’m a pervert, and will often buat open a mint packaging just to get it on my skin.
It’s a personal question only you can answer.

Congrats on the win @jimbobbill! The Geiger is a great looking bar and whether you decide you leave it in the case or not, it does not disappoint.

Woo hoo! Glad it made it bro! That sweet bar went from my stack in Wisconsin, to Ray, to Welshie, to you! 👍 It's yours to do with what you like, just know that I refrained from removing it from the packaging for over 2 years! 😁

It certainly is a sweet bar. I'm going to take the advise of the majority including yourself and leave it in the packaging. I'll touch it with my eyes !!
Thanks for commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63114.90
ETH 2626.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72