Jbcoin Metal Detecting Finds from the past, 1843 Large Cent and 1863 Civil War Token

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Hi, I wanted to share a video of some of my earlier detecting finds. An 1843 US Large Cent and an 1863 Civil War token!

Big difference when you detect an area when it's raining vs hard and dry ground! New targets seem to appear, due to better conductivity!

20171206_204634.jpg

Thanks for watching! I love finding early coppers!

Please upvote and Resteem!

JB

U5dr61qgo3LQQKgjUH2XXMso4x6Xd7a_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Amazing, finding both those coins almost proved that they were civil war ear relics, one of these days, will be picking up an quality metal detector. The few quality finds vs. a ton of bottle caps.

It's all in the location @rollingthunder, as well as if the site is virgin ground, not bulldozed around too much or fill dirt put in over the years. A cheaper machine like a Garrett Ace 250 or 350 is just fine, as long as you are doing the research ahead of time on early locations. I talk to a lot of the old timers, to find out where house sites, dumps, swimming holes, baseball diamonds, church revivals, etc USED to be. I don't detect many currently used areas. It's a lot of work to research, but worth it when you're the first to locate a new spot after 150 or 200 years!

Great advice, thanks for sharing your insight into metal detecting, no winter where I live, if you count 50 F as the season low.

Haha..ok rainy days it is then! Best advice that I can give anyone who is relic hunting or coinshooting though, is don't waste too much time in one spot. Give it an hour or less, if it's not producing move on. Don't waste your entire day beating up one spot trying to find something. The tendency is to try harder, or assume its deeper or out of range. Just move on to several locations and find lots of somethings.

If items are present and undisturbed ground, you'll know it within the first 15-20 minutes. You cant "wish" items to arrive, because you like the spot so much. It's hard to give up and move on, but your detecting time is valuable. In the long run, it will be worth it.

Nice finds brother! I can wait for spring to get here so I can get my detector out! 👍🏼🍺🥓

Thanks @stackinag47! Good luck to you!

As I never detected, I didn't know about the differences between detecting in wet soil and in hard soil. I learned something today.

Yes, I always go.back and hit a spot that produced well in the hot summer, later like after a winter thaw. Conductivity is better, coins turn in the frozen ground, change up your detector settings and also the direction that you are gridding over an area (like lawn mowing) to cover it well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69