House Fire Metal Detecting - Free Silver from 1925!

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

Hi all, I had a chance to do a little metal detecting this weekend, at the site where a house caught fire in 1925.

According to the newspaper article I found, the family was out of town and the house burned to the ground before anyone could even attempt to put out the blaze.

These are the articles that I look for when I research new detecting spots. House fires, spots of fairs, carnivals, church revivals in a corn field, picnic areas, etc.

Along with the usual trash that I find detecting, I turned up a very special silver today!

It is a Merc from the year of the fire...1925! A little Extra Toasty, even with some very harsh cleaning so that I could ID the date.

15226292253245800669420240070531.jpg

15226292993857312894264779705797.jpg

Like I said, it has had a rough life! The newspaper article said that nothing could be saved of the house and contents.

Well I beg to differ. This little '25 Mercury was saved!

It made it through the fire and will have a good home for life.

It was pretty cool to find anything from the year of the fire though. Ten cents of silver would buy a lot in 1925!

Hope that you enjoyed reading my post. I had a good time out exploring today.

Please upvote, Resteem, and check your smoke detector battery!

JB

U5dr61qgo3LQQKgjUH2XXMso4x6Xd7a_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

The dime definitively has a story, laying around after the fire, bulldozed to the final resting spot before you found it. Interesting research and a memento from the past.

Thanks @rollingthunder. It was embedded in some black crusty hunk...I am guessing a melted piece of purse or wallet? Maybe

I would frame the micro phished article and the coin together, a great conversation piece. Excellent find))))))))

Hah! What a unique story.

Metal detecting looks fun. Has it proven itself to be a profitable hobby, or do you do it for other fulfillment?

Oh yeah, i can usually pay the cost of a new detector in the first 6 months or so. You can get a nice detector in the $300 to $600 range.

But you also get some exercise and walk a lot. I like relics and history, so i have fun with old bottle dumps, buttons, etc too

Nice find! And worth noting that none of their paper currency was found laying around... I presume...

Nope, that worthless paper just fueled the flames, if it was there.

very cool, I like your tips on detecting. Sometimes I will see people at the park across the street doing it but it seems like they mostly find modern garbage and coins. Finding historical venues like that puts you were you might actually find something old.

Yeah I usually avoid modern places that people go daily now. Except occasionally hunting for underwater rings at beaches and swimming holes, when it's hot outside.

I like looking for the places that used to be popular. Every old guy in a small town would love to talk to you about where the baseball diamond used to be or where he swam or went sledding when he was a boy.

I think that is a very good strategy, what part of the country are you in?

what's the oldest thing you have found?

that'll be hard to top.

Haha...coin wise, probably the few colonial coins that I have found, from the 1770's. I have a lot of early buttons from the 1700s and a couple of shoebuckles. Ohio isn't the best place to detect for colonial items in my opinion, but I've found a few!

😂 saving coins from the flames. Your a good man taking that coin in for rehabilitation.

Haha..I never thought of it that way..too funny! @pit-bullion

That's a nice and meaningful find. Very cool!

Thanks @mrs-v, it was a fun day trying.

I can tell you I'm barely managing to wait for the weather to warm up. Have a bunch of places lined up already. We've got a giant ravine system running through the heart of Toronto that's full of pretty much everything. Been there geo-caching before, some good finds along the way.

That sounds awesome! I have a friend who detected around Toronto and found some cool older coppers!

Really interesting, great find!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

You have been defended with a 100.00% upvote!
I was summoned by @jbcoin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59239.68
ETH 2525.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50