Sort:  

@goldrooster I have mixed feelings about Australia. It is beautiful, with tons of unique things to see and it’s own cultural vibe.

But I lived there for 5 years.

My husband and I met while he was traveling (he is Australian) and dated long distance (me in the US, him there). He was going to move here after we got married, but 9/11 happened. I had been working in tourism so my job opportunities lessened as a result. He had a good job in Australia so I ended up moving there. Leaving my family and friend was very difficult for me and I felt very isolated. And sad, while I was there 3 of my grandparents passed away, I missed all of my friend’s weddings & life milestones. It is hard for me to separate those feelings from how I think about Australia. Even though all of that has nothing to do with the country itself.

All that being said, I do have favorite places there, friends that I miss now that we have returned to the US & my husband’s family are all there, so I do enjoy visiting. Flying into Sydney after 15 hours crossing the dark ocean is a beautiful sight. ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62604.24
ETH 3437.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50