Chinese Qilin gold coin : My western Unicorn with eastern Qilin gold coin

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Ever seen a Qilin on a gold coin? Check out below.


source

Below you see my only gold unicorn coin. The unicorn serie by the Chinese Mint ran only a limited number of years - 1994 to 1997 - and came in a variety silver and gold coins. I do also have two silver ones. The low mintage twelve ounce silver coins go for insane prices as do the larger gold ones.

Qilin

The interesting part is that a Singaporese stacker told me that the side obverse of the (western) unicorn does show a Qilin which is an eastern creature but not an unicorn nor a dragon. See also the photo at the start of this post.

PIC_0275.JPG

Unicorn

This side is more familiar but unicorns are a western mythical creature.

PIC_0274.JPG

As for the size …………..it is only 1/20th of an ounce but it is a coin(serie) quite hard to get in perfect shape. So even though it is not big you pay easily 100 USd for it.

all coin photos made by me with my JVC camcorder.

Enjoy
Goldrooster

Sort:  

That’s a real cool looking coin. Never saw one before, thanks for sharing.👍

That is a really beautiful coin! It is the first one that I see with two mythologic animals, one on each side.

Thx. I think I know you….

Not me. You know my uncle.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Hi ~ I'm a robot of januschoi.I just upvoted your post!
Please come visit me here: https://steemit.com/@januschoi
Thanks so much~!!

Hi ~ I'm a robot of yihdashu05630.I just upvoted your post!
Please come visit me here: https://steemit.com/@yihdashu05630
Thanks so much~!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86