You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Coin Dies are Created using a Pantograph.

I was wondering why CNC and computer design wasn't used for this. I'm surprised that it still has that much error in it. I see what you're talking about in your drawing, but from what I've seen on a laser cutter you'll never notice those "imperfections", but maybe since coins are so small those imperfections will make a bigger deal?

Sort:  

Yeah, It may just be the "old school" mint makers talking, but I'd love to see a comparison of the laser engraved vs pantograph die.

If you ever get a chance to compare this I'd love to see it.

I'm sure there is some truth to their "madness", but wonder if those "imperfections" from lasers could even be detected by the human eye.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62065.67
ETH 2429.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68