The Red-Headed Stepchild Of The Precious Metal Family

My dearsome brought me treasure yesterday!


All photos taken with Samsung LunaPro cell phone.
20190614_201128 (2).jpg
SHINY!

Anyone with a lick of sense gets excited about silver and gold shiny, but not everyone appreciates copper. I am not everyone. I am not a gingerphobe, the red metal is A-OK with me!


20190614_210637 (2).jpg
Just under 2.5 pounds

While gold and silver are often found adorning humans and gracing altars and such, copper is the workhorse of the metals. It clads our cookware, carries our water and electricity, and used to be part of our currency basket but the mint was losing their butt printing pennies, so now those are zinc.


20190614_211222 (2).jpg
Pure copper has some very attractive properties.

This little pitcher and cup set is more than just a pretty face. It is actually a way to purify water. By putting water into a copper vessel and letting it sit for a while - overnight is a common recommendation - the bacteria in the water will die off. There are actually hot tub water treatments that use copper and silver rather than bromine or chlorine.

Here is a very interesting article that covers some of the other amazing super powers of this humble metal:
https://recipes.timesofindia.com/articles/food-facts/is-drinking-water-from-copper-bottles-actually-healthy/photostory/61849872.cms?picid=61849930

So what did I do to deserve such an awesome gift? Nothing, really, except recognize a REAL treasure when I found one...


20190615_062751 (2).jpg
40 years ago today, I met this guy.

NAMASTE!

Sort:  

As a result of your posts we are all going to live healthier longer lives!

Congrats on your new shiny & your 40th anniversary ❤🌻🎶 Hope you enjoyed a nice --well deserved celebration. Best wishes for another awesome 40+ years together 🥂🐴🎂

Just got home from visiting the little town where we met, had dinner at the little restaurant where we had our wedding rehearsal dinner - it was lovely! Thanks!

What a great photo! And I suppose and hope "this guy" enjoyed Fathers' Day yesterday (-: Sending lots of love.

Hey! There you are! So good to see you back, and thank you!!

Interesting! There was certainly a lot I didn't know about copper.
Great photo. What is it about old photos that make them look ....well....old?

I am not everyone either. I save all of the copper I can get my hands on. It does a great many things. Thanks for posting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81