My First Wood🌳Pour Copper Bar.

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemers, Today i got to do some pouring and wanted to show you what i did. Finally i get to try some pouring with more heat from my New Big Boy Toys. I was feeling brave and wanted to try something new. This time i'm doing a round wood pour. I have seen this done by many pourers. It looked really cool and the mold was easy to make.
wood1.jpg
All i did was cut a round hole with a paddle bit about 1/2 the way through a piece of wood. Next i melted down some scrap copper wire i saved with a little borax. Finally i poured all the melted copper in the wood and watch the magic start.
wood2.jpg
After cooling it off with water here's what the results are.
wood3.jpg
wood4.jpg
I think it came out really nice for my first time. It's amazing that i can do this to scrap copper with the right tools and knowledge.
wood5.jpg
Now for a little cleaning and polish to give it a better finish.
wood6.jpg
I used a tooth brush size wire brush to get the biggest part of the cleaning. Then i polished the round with a micro fiber towel and some metal polish to finish it off.
wood7.jpg
Hope you enjoy new new creation. Thanks for stopping by and viewing. I am a proud member of the #steemsilvergold and @ssg-community.
DQmcx7LpJ3Y2fFHqWKYy3EdQMgydwGtt6q1ge22fVHZLx9S_1680x8400.jpg
Steemit firehelmet 2018 (1).jpg
If you liked this post. Please check out my Not A Big Deal🃏 post.

Sort:  

Very cool! That looks really nice! Look at you rocking the big boy toys!

Thanks, i need to get some good molds now. lol

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Cool, I'm starting to like these copper pours that you are doing as much as silver. That's a really cool looking copper nugget, and from a wood pour too! Excellent!

Copper is free scrap and getting some experience to do some silver. Thank

Nice job, man. That's a cool looking shiny chunk of copper. The back of it looks concave in the last picture because of the lighting.

Thanks, it is a little round but stick out it think it cooled funny with the wood.

Fantastic post. Really enjoyed this. I'm getting the itch to give it a shot myself 😅

Thanks, if i can do you can lol. The torches, gauges and bottles was the most expensive part. i had the bottles so it wasn't to bad.

That's a fine-looking pour! Copper wouldn't be a bad way to start in my opinion as it's much cheaper than silver or gold and hen you can practice until you feel like you have a certain level of mastery. Good job! Looking forward to seeing more of your pours.

You hit the nail right on the head. If you can pour copper you can pour anything.

I'm toying with the idea of starting to get into pouring, but before I get the equipment, I need to find some material that I'd actually be ok melting down. Ha ha. I had bought some old pennies, but they're too cool to melt. Ha ha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63957.85
ETH 2753.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66