Goodwill Silver.

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemers, Today i have to show you a few treasures i picked up at my local Goodwill store. I have been seeing a few fellow steemians finding treasures in different places. I was out the other day doing some shopping and passed a Goodwill store. I haven't been in a thrift store in years because the items was getting repetitious. I had a little spare time so, i swung in and was happy i that did.
Here's what I found.
Thriftstore1.jpg
I walked around the store and thought to myself same ole same ole. I didn't come across anything cool. At my local Goodwill store the good stuff is usually in the checkout case. On my way out, i ask the cashier if they had any coins or jewelry. She responded, they didn't have any coins but had some costume jewelry. I looked through the bags they made up. Most of the bags contained cheap not even real plated stuff but, one caught my eye. I saw the stamping through the bag and i was sure it was at the least .925 plated set. The price for the bag was $9.95. I figured i'd chance from what i could see through the bag.
The first piece is a choker style necklace.
Thriftstore2.jpg
This necklace is marked .925 mexico. I always check each piece carefully to prove it's real silver. A good sign on this piece so is that the connections are soldered. Being soldered is a good sign that it could be real.
Thriftstore3.jpg
Next piece is the bracelet.
Thriftstore4.jpg
The bracelet has .925 Italy stamped on it. I really like the way the ends are attached and soldered.
Thriftstore5.jpg
Just because all the pieces are marked i still do an acid test to put any other worries to rest. To acid test your item is pretty easy with a simple acid kit. First you place a small scratch on the stone.
Thriftstore7.jpg
Then use some silver acid on the scratches. If the metal stays and turn red it's silver.
Thriftstore8.jpg
Now that we know this jewelry is real lets see how much real silver we have. This chain and bracelet weighs 52.8 grams of .925 silver.
Thriftstore6.jpg
I don't think i'll be going to the Goodwill store every week but it is on my radar now. I'm on the hunt for cheap precious metals and love to find it different places to score them. Hope you enjoy my treasures. Thanks for stopping by and viewing. I am a proud member of the #steemsilvergold and @ssg-community.
SSS.1.jpg
Steemit firehelmet 2018 (1).jpg
If you liked this post. Please check out my 100 year old Carson city Morgan.

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Damn I hear ya!! Never even thought to check the Goodwill, will be checking now! Awesome pickup!!

Thanks, I think this was the jem of the store.

Good intuition! Your feeling about that bag was correct. Congrats.

Thanks, it looked really heavy and didn't stick to a magnet.

Man, my goodwill has nothing but overpriced and new overstock items. So Jealous of your score!!

This was the only thing i might have ti wait a while before i go back lol

It looks like you were able to make a few bucks on your visit. Nice!

Thanks, That was a good day.

What a lucky find at the thrift store

Thanks, i got lucky.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63813.24
ETH 2654.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76