@fat-elvis flee market buys

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

Well, there's a lot of distraction happening from the core basis for our little #steemsilvergold group. And it's flea market season in the Queen City now, as the weather is turning into spring!

So Back to basics for me, I'm a stacker and a collector, and I like to find hidden treasures amongst junk stores, and flea markets.

So today, I am showing off some little gems I pulled from local flea market. There wasn't a lot of stellar deals to be had, a few antique pocket knives, toy trains etc. But in amongst the piles of antiques, I found some coins.

IMG_20180317_124949.jpg
IMG_20180317_125005.jpg

I traded the above coins for a $20.00 Canadian note, and got a dollar back.

A 1929 Canadian 80% KG silver half dollar
IMG_20180317_133202.jpg
IMG_20180317_133228.jpg

2 buffalo nickles
IMG_20180317_133255.jpg
IMG_20180317_133332.jpg
IMG_20180317_133353.jpg

The Ike dollar was basically thrown in free... But he was overcharging to star with, so it made it easier to buy from him.

All in all, a pretty good trip to the flea market.

Keep stackin' and stay classy #ssg

DQmeKYd83x5pG2QShqNh83BvbvXRx2s2yNLiq87Cq8tNteS_1680x8400.png
DQmf2cb8gLs8zmBpwSi94FbRer8i858FXeFBRhGQNxMbY9R.jpg
DQmXyyg1YVHKw1ZbguhsoRa92GUwovFEifj8XfWaTPvnY4H_1680x8400.png
DQmSD7Vu9Hxx4HufVE6mhZVR2DyHKgwjxin6CsUc4WdNnRs.jpeg

Sort:  

Im also attending a local flea market, hes sat on my lap purring.

hehehe, but eeeewwwww

I’ve never had any luck at flea markets around here. Not a bad score my friend. I like the buffalo nickels, they are the best designed nickel in my opinion. Thanks for sharing👍

I don't have much luck either usually, O collect pocket knives a bit as well, and sometimes find some deals, but usually people think their old junk is all treasure! And sometimes it's just old junk...

It’s the same was here. There’s guys that want $30 for a cull Morgan around here. Live in dream world....

Yeah, that's way too much! The one fellow had a really cool Sheffield RCMP knife that I liked, but I'm not spending $45.00 on one! Maybe $20.

That’s why you have to know your shit. Everyone thinks flea markets are a bargain. Yeah maybe 20 years ago!!!

I have to agree and disagree, it is one of the best designs but crap how they designed it. This is a cool design but awful execution as they always wear over the date and where more like a deep cameo for beauty and not for pocket change, if you ever get a dateless one you can use a product called nic-a-date to recover the date.

I wish i could afford the gold buffalo coin. Those are amazing looking. Don’t collect non precious metal coins anymore. I do have one nice graded buffalo, but i bought that when i was going to do a type set.

Nice little pickups @fat-elvis! I guess I am going to have to start going to flea markets to see if I can find any gems like this.

The bargains are rarely found here anymore, but it's still something I really enjoy going to. Even when I leave empty handed, I hit up a thrift shop as well, cause I like buying jewelry under spot, but Saturday is when all the folks like me are out, so if you don't go early, you miss out. I normally like the thrift shops on a Monday morning best!

the nickel looks really nice dude, I also love the ike dollars but I only collect the silver ones as I only need one of each for the cupro nickel ones. I have posted another type of Ike dollar in my latest post

Thanks Gdw. I didn't have any buffalo nickles in my collection yet, but for me the real treasure is the half dollar! I also passed on a 1868 Upper Canada bank half penny, from the bank of Ontario. Kinda cool but out of my scope a bit.

This post has received a 4.76 % upvote from @boomerang.

This post received a $2.100 (50.15%) upvote from @upvotewhale thanks to @fat-elvis! For more information, check out my profile!

Nice scores. I collect old knives too. Have a old army bag full of them. We have all kinds of flea markets in my area and I find all kinds of goodies.

Cool. I have about 30-40 knives in my collection I think. Maybe we should do some knife showoff posts!

That would be cool. Either that or a new tag #fleamarketfinds. lol

Nice grabs fat-e! Great loot and fun times hunting all for $19cad — smokin’ deal 😎👍

Thanks bro. It's a lot of fun treasure hunting! Especially when you find an old 50c coin!

I stopped going to flea markets here in Edmonton because you barely get any bargains there. For some reason, they’re a waste of time here.

I hear ya, there's rarely a bargain found anymore.

My wife goes to the thrift stores. Maybe that’s where the bargains went.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64266.51
ETH 3121.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08