A bit out of the ordinary for @fat-elvis

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

Hi all,

Today I made a purchase from a local buy&sell. A lady had some older bank notes for sale, at just a bit more than the face value, and they're in pretty good shape. Now they're not that old, especially the $5 note, but the $1 and $2 notes are from the early 1970's.

Canada discontinued the $1.00 bill in 1986 and 1987 brought us the infamous "Loonie". The $2.00 bill was discontinued in 1995, and 1996 brought us the "Toonie".

So here's what I picked up.

IMG_20180911_192441.jpg

Sort:  

Are the bills worth much more than face value? It's cool you could get older bills regardless. If they're not worth something now, maybe they will be later.

The 1 and 2 are likely worth about twice face value to a collector, just because they're in such new condition. The 5 is pretty modern, so not worth more than $5 really.

So you got a bit of a profit off it. If nothing else, you got some older bills that aren't in circulation anymore, so they could go up in value as time goes on. They at least add some more variety to your collection!

Not a fan of bank notes, but if you can make some money on them it’s all good.👍

No I'm not really a collector of them, but, they're pretty neat, and in great, likely VF condition. Probably can flip them to the coin shop.

I think that's the first Canadian $1 I've ever seen. They look like they are in great shape. Nice score @fatelvis.

Thanks VG. The notes from before 1960 seem to carry a higher value, but these were so nice I decided to buy them. And it really didn't cost much more than face value, so I'm pretty happy about the deal.

Fresh toilet paper! Haha.

Nice pickup though. Once this fiat system gets flushed away these things will be fun to look back on and reminisce with the grand kids ;)

I love Canadian bills. I have the one and two and used to have one of each bill from that era...but who’s gonna have a $5, $10,$20, $50 & $100 and not spend them?

I've change all theses worthless papers in silver a year ago. I don't feel bad by doing so!

These are the first Canadian notes of $1 and $2 that I have seen. I like them, with the youthful Queen Elizabeth's face...

Yeah, it's been a while since they were in circulation. And I have often wondered how many remain, I'm sure like good Canadians, most of us took them in for destruction like we were told.

I collect all sorts of things, including currencies. I would have picked those up too.
Thanks for the history lesson for those outside of Canada.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76