New Silver Ahoy!

Looksee what I just found in my local antiques cave...

So apparently this is a Maria Theresia Thaler. These coins continued to be struck after her death in 1780... and if I've understood correctly, the x after the date means that this was a restrike.

Anyway, they were minted all over the place, and as yet I've not got enough experience to figure out where... but if you know, I'd love to find out. These are bullion coins and as far as I can tell they have about .71 troy ounces of silver per coin... I think... I'm getting discombobulated by all the info out there!

Please holler if you know more! Evie x

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

What an amazing find Evie! Those are quite unique and you are fortunate to find such a treasure.

Thanks! I wasn't sure but I was really drawn to it... he wasn't asking much so I figured I'd go for it as I like it as an object anyway :)

Posted using Partiko Android

It's great and if the price is right even better.

Thanks- I'm definitely happy to add it to my treasure chest!

Posted using Partiko Android

WOW!!! That is certainly any AMAZING find, my friend @eveningart! Congratulations!!!!

Thanks very much! The dealer was very dismissive of it, but I kind of felt drawn to it anyway so decided to bring it home with me. Not sure it's worth much in terms of coin collecting but would love to find out more about it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Blimey! I paid £10 for it...

Posted using Partiko Android

This is beautiful. Usually I am not into the old coins. I don’t know why (probably I am just a weirdo 😂). But this is really appealing. What a great find!

Haha... I'm sure you're not a weirdo!!! Old coins win over new coins for me... each to their own and what makes collecting so interesting I think! But I do agree... there's something about this coin that meant I couldn't leave it behind. E x

Posted using Partiko Android

One of the coins I like to get before I 'Kick the Bucket' coins.

If I spot another one, I'll grab it and give you a shout, I promise! E x

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65560.09
ETH 3467.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68