Conversation Corner #1

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

I've thought about this idea for a while now and finally decided to give it a shot! I'd like to start a regular post which highlights a unique item which is relevant to the #steemsilvergold community. I've creatively named it Conversation Corner because I want there to be conversation, discussions and educational by sharing information. There is a vast knowledge base here on #ssg, so lets tap into it!! Plus there is the added bonus of a template to contribute something regularly 😜

I often find myself stumbling across new and unique things that I know very little or nothing about. Often what I do, and probably many of you is use a lifeline and ask a friend or poll the google for answers. However, I think this is the ideal posting scenario for SSG as it allows the opportunity for individuals to collectively share their thoughts and ideas on the matter at hand.

So, without further ado, let Conversation Corner begin,

The first entry here could be somewhat controversial and this was done with intent. Like I mentioned earlier, engagement and discussions are the premise of this series and what I'm truly after, so I'm hopeful this piece will stir the pot and breathe life into this regular post.

Source

I stumbled across these things the other day, I knew absolutely nothing about them aside from instantly noticing they looked like poker chips with fancy designs on them. A little more investigating and I come to find they are called Satori Coins or Satori Bitcoins founded by a company in Japan called Raimu Inc since 2016 or possibly earlier. They are manufactured in China and each unit comes pre-loaded with 0.001 BTC. The holographic sticker can be removed to reveal a QR code which can then be scanned to import the BTC. Distribution is worldwide however it seems like they are illegal in the United States due to money transmitting rules and red tape.

Source

A quick ebay search and these things are selling for north of $100/each with the current price of 0.001 BTC being approximately $11.50 USD.

Source

I think these are a neat and novel idea and while holding one for novelty does seem appealing I don't see myself running out to get a roll mostly due to the fact of crypto-uncertainty. I'm reminded of a saying from the pm's world, if you don't hold it, you don't own it, just not sure I want to be holding an expensive poker chip that one day could have no value.

Does anyone here have any of these? Does anyone think they are a good investment?
Would you recommend buying these? So this is it for the first Conversation Corner, I'm really curious to hear the communities feedback on this idea as well as this intriguing Satori Coin.

Please share your thoughts and let the conversations begin!

Sort:  

My fantasy purchase is for a set of .999 poker chips made of silver, one set I looked at by Kitco was 100 ounces selling for $2195. Hope you trust your table players when the game ends......back in the rack before you leave the table guys.......

now that's a poker chip I could get to like too! I've seen this set before and briefly fantasized about owning it lol. I bet they would make a great sound when you shuffle them like all the poker stars do!

These were really popular on instagram for awhile... I always wanted to get one, but even 6 months ago or so folks were selling them for $50+...

I'm personally of the opinion crypto won't be going to zero and that 0.001 BTC will be worth a good bit in the future, but the fact that its on what's basically just a fancy poker chip is kinda crazy to me, haha.... I'd rather just buy the 0.001 BTC for 12 bucks or so!

hahaha good point - save yourself a lot of money buy doing that. They are neat pieces but I don't think they are worth the premium either

We are new to crypto and not really a fan but those look cool, I would pay a small premium for the novelty but $100 is a little steep lol Thanks for sharing and will be looking for the next conversations corner!

we'll were in the same boat - I'm new to this crypto stuff as well. They are neat looking and would be an interesting conversation starter but the premium is significant

Those are pretty cool. The premium does make me shy away but I've paid some hefty premiums for coins also. Cool idea with the conversation corner. Look forward to seeing more. +1 new follower

I really feel this a the perfect place for something like this. Thanks for stopping by!

Those are pretty cool! Yeah that us a steep price tag.

yeah, its a bit steep for my liking too

Never seen them before, it would be cool for a steem round to be pre loaded with 1 steem, i did think that everyone buying a steem round pays @steemsilverround 1 steem, the round is given 1 steem face value and if anyone wanted to sell in the future @steemsilverround would always pay the 1 steem in exchange for the round, if steem went to $100 it would give the round an extra vaue on top of the silver and collectability.

And another idea, the 1 steem everyone pays is used to power up @steemsilvergold, so if there are 2,500 rounds thats a power up of 2500 steem every year or more depending on the mintage and @steemsilver round upvotes your post at say 5% per coin that you own up to maybe a maximum of 10 so your steem round is also generating a tiny amount of income.

Or you register your COA with a 1 steem payment which is used to power up and every week steemsilverround uploads a post and everyone with a COA just comments their number and gets an upvote after 24 hours, the more COAs that comment the lower the vote, the less comments the bigger the vote and voting is done in random order as the power bar decreases.

Or even better, @steemsilverround posts every day with 10 COA's randomly picked, check if your numbers been picked, comment "woohoo im number ----" and get a 100% upvote on the comment. Everybody would be guaranteed at least 1 upvote a year and we could see which is the luckiest most profitable coin of the year.

I like the idea of a pre-loaded steem round of sorts....although I feel it would have to me made from silver, just my bias. An interesting point you mentioned about the coa which could have the qr code would certainly make things easier. You have some really interesting ideas here!

Not for me. Don't like poker nor plastic. A bit of steem in my wallet I do like.

now that's money well spent!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ejr from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88