Silver Milk Spots Remedy? - for @silverstackeruksteemCreated with Sketch.

Hello Steem Meisters,

After a brief discussion in relation to one of @silverstackeruk memes in this posting, I've decided to risk a 2016 Kangaroo 1oz silver coin in a little experiment.

Can you see the milky appearance intermittently around the edge of the coin?
20171021_150443.jpg
20171021_150516.jpg

I will be trying white vinegar as a means to remove the milkyness. It works superbly on rust removal as I found on many occasions but will it work on silver???

20171021_150358.jpg

A little bit of a heads up, after almost 90 minutes submerged in white vinegar, there doesn't seem much of an improvement (hopefully a video will follow with regards to this).

20171021_161227.jpg

So I've decided to give the coin a good 12 hours or more in the solution and report back tomorrow (time permitting).
Pray the coin doesn't turn dark grey as rusty steel tends to do :/

So I'll see you guys on the other side :)

Ooo, it's exciting! [marginally]

footer.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for posting. Excited to see what happens.

Thank you :)

Part #2 has now been posted on my channel.

Great post man. I seen somewhere that it should work better when submerged for longer times, Strangely nough this is the smae coin i used when i tried the soft rubber method. Using a soft white pencil rubber will remove the spots but it also take the shine away from the coin.

Cant wait to see tomorrows result buddy :-)

Cheer buddy.
Your wait is over, part #2 has now been posted :)

The CML really had issues with milk spots. I know silver is silver, but pretty silver is nicer to look at!

I'll have to have a look through my set of CMLs to check their condition. I'm not one for full inspections on delivery. I've got some 'yellowing' Brits, is that easier to deal with?

I don't know about the yellowing, but I think most people in the silver community would just leave them be, even with the milk spots. I love the purity that they have, but it's fun to be able to just hold a chunk of silver in your hand without worrying about tarnishing or light scratches. I don't have the money for it, but if I did, I would get a few 10 oz bars and some generic rounds. I really want a Steemit round (apparently someone private minted 1500).

Yes, a steemit round would be nice but I think they're quite a premium (I could be wrong). I'm primarily stacking (on behalf on my mother) for bullion value for when silver hits $10,000 an oz ;)

I have to admit though, I think I am fall in love with the shiny stuff now :)

Part #2 is posted now btw.

I would just be be happy with $100 silver. I'll take a look at part 2

Great post man. I seen somewhere that it should work better when submerged for longer times, Strangely nough this is the smae coin i used when i tried the soft rubber method. Using a soft white pencil rubber will remove the spots but it also take the shine away from the coin.

Cant wait to see tomorrows result buddy :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55