Steem Silver Gold ---> My First Morgan Dollar!


The Morgan Dollar


unnamed.jpg
Photo taken by @eaglespirit


The Morgan Dollar was in circulation for more than 40 years, and more than any other coin. Personally, I've really loved this dollar a lot and finally got my hands on one. So many stackers have these in abundance and some people like this coin just to have them on hand.

For me, this is a piece of my American history and I just adore the color and design of the one I chose. It has a blue tone to the coin and just lovely. The year stamped on my coin is 1884, with the circulation date of 1878 to 1921 for the Morgan.

JM Bullion states the following about the Morgan:

Without a doubt, the most sought after Morgan Silver Dollars are those that have withstood the test of time without succumbing to the many signs of wear and tear typically associated with coins that are so old. For collectors, it is these well-preserved coins that are the preferred addition to any and all collections. Unfortunately, the fact that almost all of these coins were produced more than 100 years ago means that they will more often than not show signs of damage, sometimes significant signs of damage.

In addition to those coins that have been well-preserved over the years, collectors also want to get their hands on the earliest Morgan Silver Dollars. The coins produced in 1878 and 1879 are especially popular because they are the oldest available on the market today. It is the coins from the 1870s that are in pristine condition that sell for higher prices than just about any and all other Morgan Silver Dollars.

PCGS monetary value of the Morgan, brings mine into the $19 to $20 USD range. After a visit to my LCS, this piece only cost me $17 USD. Score! Methinks I like making the deals maybe as much as having the coin. Even though this coin was not from a popular mint with a specific stamp of "O", "S", or "CC" I still love her and that's all that matters. IMO, the coin is still tops because guess what? Silver will always remain a currency and I did not lose either way.

unnamed-1.jpg
Photo taken by @eaglespirit

I'm not sure why I can't seem to get super clear close ups of my coins but I may have to get the name of the macro lens some of my SSG fam has been using so you can get a better feel for the coins I'm showing. Typically, the shots I'm taking are in bright light and with my iPhone 6 plus. Bummer!

According to APMEX the value of the Morgan is as follows:

Morgan Silver Dollars Mintage and Values:

The Morgan Silver Dollar is one of many highly sought after coins, which means the price is higher than more abundant coins, but the payoff can also be higher. People who buy Morgan Dollars should consider how long they want to keep the Silver coins. The best Morgan Silver Dollars will be in the best condition. Any American Silver Dollars also pick up value if they have an interesting history behind their creation.

The Morgan Silver Dollar is one of many American Silver Dollars that are rare and highly sought after pieces of the 19th and 20th century history. Minted during the heyday of westward migration, Morgan Dollars would have been used by both gunslingers buying a shot of whiskey as well as railroad barons and other wealthy tycoons playing poker at the bar and impressing women at the dance halls. Named after its designer George T. Morgan, these American Silver Dollars feature a Liberty head that was inspired by Anna Willess Williams, a Philadelphia resident, making Morgan Silver Dollars truly American, departing from the typical Greek figures used on previous issues.

If you have the desire to start stackin' and love this coin it would not be a bad first choice. Peace.

ES logo.png

Greetings,
Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a First Nation member of the Hopi & Apache Native American tribes, Medicine woman in-training, first time blogger since November 2017, (right here on Steemit), paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the Mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with fellow planktons and minnows in a few groups by helping them adjust to Steemit and curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, energy work, and the spirit world. Additionally, I'm the creator of #MedicineCardMonday, so if you are interested in receiving a Native American blessing stop by my blog every Monday, or just say hello!
See you soon, @eaglespirit

image

Sort:  

Hey, kiddo, that reminds me. I have a Steem burning a hole in my pocket. Are you interested in another measly SBI share, or shall I buy ice cream instead? Or I could buy you a Dustsweeper subscription -- or add to that stack if you already have one. Anyway ... going once ... going twice ... let me know.

Yay! Thank you so much for thinking of me and SBI would be grand! Its like giving and getting at the same time. :)

Nice one,I can't believe I don't have one of those in my stack!

@tbnfl4sun you don't?? whaaa??? yeah it took me awhile to get one ... get one! hehe

Morgans are so cool to have!!!! Congrats on your first Morgan Dollar. A truly beautiful silver coin!

@silversaver888 yes they really are and thank you for confirming that. i'm still learning. :)

You can't go wrong with the US Silver Dollars, girl friend! I will try to look for you in Discord.

The Morgan was a beautiful coin for it’s time, then came the Walking Liberty Half and claimed the crown.

Welcome to the silver coIn club!

@rt395 yes and i love the walking liberty, i have her too. :)
even the zombucks rendition! :)

Very cool. It may be your first Morgan, probably won't be your last! Silver dollars are addictive!

@fat-elvis yay thank you FE! miss you bub! how's the cookin? i nominated you for a raffle but i ended up winning by silversaver. my luck is horrible here, i think i need to pray to the raffle gods and leave out oranges and incense or something. hehe

Thanks for that Eagle. Im running a raffle now if you want in! A couple sweet proofs!

@fat-elvis hey you are? i missed you by at least 4 days so it might be over? oh no!

I just posted an update today! It's going for a couple more days... And I have a new pouring post coming right up, I think you'll like it!

@fat-elvis oh snap! i need to stop by for sure!

That is a nice addition @eaglespirit! The Morgan's are really cool to look at and, like you mentioned, the history is really interesting as well.

@knowledge-seeker thanks so much KS!! i love the history a lot. :)

Great job! Love morgan dollars and mercury dimes!

@wstanley226 thank you so very much! i really appreciate you coming by and giving me some love! :)

You got a 7.69% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @minnowpond!

Actually my first silver was a Morgan. I hope I still have it.

Definitely need to post about my favorite coins. I like my current silver round. I'd like to get the steemrounds...

@ganjafarmer oh no kidding!??? woo hooooo get out ...
yes please do post more on the coins! us stackers love us some coin shots :)

I looked and found 2 that havent been lost. Or stolen. Sigh. Well I'll see about getting pictures soon. And couldn't find the Morgan either. Grrr

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61423.30
ETH 3383.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54