Have You Seen This Silver?

Good Day everyone and Welcome to D Wings World. I have been very busy as of late and sadly have not been able to keep up the fun that is YouTube or Steemit. I also must include my email and about a hundred other things lol. I was cleaning out my email today and I found something of interest to me from Modern Coin Mart.

According to Modern Coin Mart in 1896 the Chinese province of Szechuan needed minting equipment. A company from Bridgeton, New Jersey won the bid and sent five coin presses, punching presses, feed attachments, and new coin dies to China. This company was The Ferrachute Machine Company and U.S. Mint Engraver Charles Barber was picked to design and engrave the new dies. Utilizing the Kwangtung dollar as a baseline Barber made several dies in different denominations. A small number of his patterns were struck in silver and brass to be handed out to dignitaries that were at an event commemorating the event in New Jersey.
Sadly, the min facility was flooded and the dies were lost forever to time. Now with the help of the Smithsonian a replica of this fascinating design has been made.

2018-silver-1oz-barber-dragon-raw-bu-obv.jpg

(BU version of the Barber designed dragon source)

The reverse features Chinese writing including the year and denomination of the medal.

2018-silver-1oz-barber-dragon-raw-bu-rev.jpg
(Reverse of the medal source)

So what do you guys think of the design and the history behind this restrike? I think the dragon looks really good and I am interested in it. I don't know if the price point of 59 bucks is worth it, but I thought I would share this with you. Please remember to upvote, resteem, and reply! Thanks! ~D Wing

Precious-Swimming-FInal.gif
(Precious thanks to @silversaver888)

Sort:  

Really beautiful design, I think I will pick one up. Where did you get the price of 59 bucks from, you can get it for 25.

@andregilbert I got the price of 59 USD from Modern Coin Mart. That is what they are selling the 1oz silver medal GEM BU for. Where are you seeing the 25 bucks? If you do get on let me know what you think. Thanks for your support!!

I preordered mine at Aurinum in Germany for €24.90, they should ship in 2 weeks. You can also get it at LPM in Hong Kong for $24.46 or for $22.46 if you buy at least 120 coins.

Awesome thanks so much for the information! Wish I could buy 120 coins, but my budget is not that large as of yet. Thank you though my brother!

hmmm. A dragon. I am definitely interested...
I actually got a pre-order sales email today for this too!

Very cool. I thought it was a very interesting medal and the history is really what makes it so cool. Thanks for your support!!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thank you for all the support!

I think the design and story are very cool. The price, not so much...

I think the design
And story are very cool.
The price, not so much...

                 - armshippie


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I not only agree but love that you wrote a haiku!

@armshippie I totally agree with you. However, if andregilbert knows where they are at 25 bucks then that would be much more appealing. Thanks for your support!!

I like this dragon, but it is completely different from the Barber style...

I as well enjoy the dragon and I think that fact is part of the appeal to it. I think that the fact he based it off something foreign is very interesting. Thanks for all your support buddy!!

Congratulations @dwingsworld! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99