Old Dirty BarssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

🇺🇸 America the Beautiful 🇺🇸

I am not a stackiholic.
I can stop anytime I want.
I only stack casually.
Only men get stackitus
This is just a phase.
I only buy silver on the weekends.

RIGHT....


Today I did something I have never done before. I visited my LCS to buy some silver. Now, I have purchased coins from the LCS before. Shiny coins.... New Coins... Pandas and Kooks and Koalas... but today was different.

Today I bought FIVE dirty old bars.

😳

These 1oz art bars are .999 silver issued in 1975 by the Hamilton Mint. The series is known as America the Beautiful. It looks like there was a silver version and a gold plated silver version of these bars. Mine are only silver.

I have always enjoyed learning about America’s history, geography and culture. I think that is what drew me to these bars.


Now to the nitty gritty.

The side of each bar is engraved with the number 7432.
5EB05992-35B5-444C-A5B0-FDA4A91972A1.jpeg

The front of each bar features a different American landmark or scene.

🇺🇸

The reverse includes the words “America the Beautiful”, along with the silver percentage, mint year and the letters “HM” indicating the bar was produced by the Hamilton Mint. There is also an outline on the United States. The outline contains a description of the scene featured on the front of the bar.

🇺🇸

French Quarter

8C461095-1B94-488B-9A21-F5C6605BF4D9.jpeg

French Quarter Reverse

7C5AFC65-85C0-4EDD-AE57-D535853FD509.jpeg
American, yet unmistakably foreign, you glimpse through the present into the eighteenth century France in the famous “French Quarter” of New Orleans.

The French Quarter bar is gnarly. It is super toned/tarnished. The bar also seems to have some paper crusted onto the edges.

Am I really not supposed to polish these?

🇺🇸

Covered Bridge

68B8D310-0500-44DB-B1D5-3C269DB4B9B9.jpeg

Covered Bridge Reverse

52B0F390-C005-421A-BA6D-65CC47672635.jpeg
These hardy relics turn back the adamant march of time hundreds of years as they recapture the beauty that was, and still can be, America’s.

I love the detail on this one. You can see each plank on the bridge, the wood knots on the fencing and all the stones next to the water. It looks plucked right out of a Hallmark card.

No polishing? Not even just a little?

🇺🇸

Cliff Dwellings

F433A571-25AD-4F6D-B762-01727E1431A2.jpeg

Cliff Dwellings Reverse

D00072C3-AB30-4FBA-818F-51F8AD3F42FF.jpeg
Shrouded in mystery, the cliff dwellings at Mesa Verde provide us with clues about a race of ancient Americans whose saga is all but lost to the ages.

This bar has almost TOO MUCH detail. The picture is a bit hard to read, but it is amazing how each individual brick can be seen on the buildings.

What if I just soak it in silver dip and take it out without scrubbing?

🇺🇸

Devil’s Tower

6BE63476-D1CA-4DAD-971A-1E68DD8C9B13.jpeg

Devils’s Tower Reverse

829F75E4-CCA8-41AD-A8D1-FA23B5F1DB17.jpeg
Rising hundreds of feet anove the Wyoming prairie, Devil’s Tower is truly one of America’s most awesome geological landmarks.

Close Encouters of the Third Kind anyone?

Close Encounters

Maybe I just polish one bar? We can keep it between you and me right?

🇺🇸

Whaling Ship

B500BF16-9F51-49EE-91AF-BE2E2D6F1C6C.jpeg

Whaling Ship Reverse

322935CF-5034-4DEE-BEDC-43E00630B681.jpeg
At the center of a vortex of sea, salt and sperm oil, the early American Whaling ship glides across the windswept oceans of time.

Out of the five bars purchase today, this might be my favorite. I love everything about the big ship (the sails, the way it seems to be moving across the water). Including the second ship in the foreground along with the chain links also adds great depth to the scene. This is also the least toned of the bars. I am drawn to the shiny. ☺️

The front is so shiny, it would just take the tiniest bit of polish for the back to match.

🇺🇸

In all seriousness, any recommendations on how to get the crusted paper off the edge of the bars? Soak them in water? Try a little rubbing alcohol? Paper adds character just leave it be?

I hope this secondhand stack viewing has helped to relieve any untreated stackitus flare ups.

HAPPY STACKING!

🇺🇸 ❤️ 🇺🇸 💙 🇺🇸 ❤️ 🇺🇸


Proud member of:

steemsugars and steemusa
5F1295FD-A6A1-4CB4-AA78-ADE3FFEAC80C.jpeg

D2EA45F5-0338-4D90-BCEB-2BA1C27E89B4.jpeg
F9DEBA62-7C3B-417F-AE0A-C13482466674.png

Sort:  

Great pick ups and very entertaining post! At first i was like Nooooooooo 😱😱😱😱😱

And then i was like 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Beautiful bars! @raybrockman just won one from me and i — much like yours here — desribed it as a frozen gasoline fire! The toning is spectacular and will add to the premium you will fetch if ever you let them go. The Whaling Shipbis glorious!

Cheers!

Hellooooo! 😊
What about the paper bits stuck to the bars? I think they got left in a cardboard commemorative holder for too long. Do you think I could soak that off in water at least?

Oh yeah! I remember seeing that post with the gnarly “gasoline fire” marks. These are just like that.... well half way there at least. 😂

Cheers to you!

Of course you like the whaling ship too. You’re a pirate. ☠️😉

Congratulations dfinney! You have just won “Lead” tier on the ssg-community bot for the month of April.

Complements of @thedamus

It’s good to have some galz who like to stack around here.

😎👍

Whaaat? I fell asleep before your last message. (Too much daytime plundering. 😄). Really?!!!

Thank you! That is crazy. And cool. And me and my less than 15 SP appreciate you. Cause seriously it will probably take me 2 years to get 100sp.😂

Thank you @thedamus!

Nice one big D!

I’m here to party, stack, and support this amazing community!

👊😎

Hahaha, I have two of the Whaling Ships!

If you want to sell one I think @goldenarms might be interested.

Great pick-ups, my friend. I just followed you! Are you by chance a female stacker like me? I am new in steemit!

Yay!!!! Girls!
Totally female. In a sea of sausage. 😄
Welcome to steemit.

I really like what you bought from the LCS today. In fact I think I have owned each of those Silver Bars in the past. I have sold some in the past year on eBay, i'm sure of it. Nice Pick UP's

I saw the Whaling Ship and Devil’s Tower on eBay today, both for 4 or 5 times what I paid. The eBay versions weren’t quite as crusty, but I felt good about the potential for a good flip.

I have sold both of those Hamilton Silver Bars on eBay in the past and that is why I Love to checkout LCS inventory and I always buy them for resale on eBay.................@dfinney keep doing this adding to your SIlver Stack with UPside Premium...........

Nice pick ups. Very jealous that you can just pop to your local LCS we have nothing like that around here.

@huw28582, you are in Wales? Is it just where you live? Would London or some other big UK city have local coin shop treasures to find? I feel like part of me finding something cool is living in/near a big US city. Plus I am so new to collecting that I am pretty much guaranteed to find something new to me.

Hi. Some answers after this beuatifull presentation. I was in Mesa Verder myself some years ago. Awesome. Answers: Numismatic coins loose there extra value when cleaned but I have looked at internet and these bars do not much above spot so some cleaning is not an issue if you want to get them clean. The paper should go off in a bath with some soft soap added (we call it green soap here and it has no chemicals added) and you then wash them off a little without rubbing. Blow dry. As for the dirt it can be removed either in the same soap bath (no rubbing) or if you wanna see spectecular result : put alufoil on the bottom of a bowl (a bit wrinkled first) , put bakingsoda in the bowl on the foil, put the bars on top and poor hot water on top of it; turn the bar after some time. Flush when clean.The first layer of silveratoms is dissolved by het electorns and baking soda. Toning will remain (the blue). Just have fun!

Yay! This is the good stuff. Thank you! I will definitely do the soft soap for the paper.

You’ve been to Mesa Verde? You get around. 😃

I’ve been to a cliff dwelling in Arizona called Montezuma’s castle that was really cool. Also a place called Acoma Sky Peublo in New Mexico. The second spot people still live there in these little clay brick homes on top of a massive rock in the middle of the desert. It seems a world away from my part of the US.

@goldrooster I got the paper off! 😃

Thank you!

Super cool buy! I particularly like the devil's tower bar. I was there a few years back, and it's kinda strange how that thing just pops up on the horizon when you get into Wyoming from SD!

Hi Abs-Elvis! ☺️

Those darn volcanic plugs are always popping up where you would least expect them! 😂

I have never been! I have been down the whole west coast, across the south, up the east.... but the US upper middle just hasn’t happened for me yet. I planned this whole vacay option for my husband’s 40th that would have involved flying to SD and renting a car to drive back west.
So we would have hit Rapid City, Badlands, Mt Rushmore, Deadwood, Devil’s Tower, Deadwood, Cody, Yellowstone. But I made three different trip plans & let him pick. He picked driving the California coast instead. All good, but I still want to see all that other stuff!

There's great stop between Spearfish SD and deadwood, where you can stop and learn how to pan gold. I have a tiny vial with about 1/2 g that I planned there one time. It's only bout an 8-9 hour drive south for me so I've been in the black Hills a few times! It's pretty awesome there...

“Only 8 or 9 hours”... I think 9 hours south for me would get me to the Oregon/California border.

Driving trips are the best. You can see so much cools stuff. The gold panning sounds fun. Go back 10 or 12 times and you can melt yourself a wee bar. ☺️

Great old bars \o/

your very welcome my friend stack on \o/

Beautiful bars!

Thank you! If I switch from hoarder to seller I will let you know. 😉

love the toning and really like the whaling ship bar! :)

Thank you!

These bars are really growing on me. And I have been good and haven’t polished them. 😄

I’ve been looking online to find more but online they are too $$$. I got these for only $17.20 each at my LCS! Bargain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90